Cruelty-Free / Reviews

EOS Lip Balm Review

EOSWhen it comes to packaging, I’m not usually a sucker. I’ve seen great Indie brand lipsticks come out of Chapstick tubes and it doesn’t bother me in the least. Yet somehow, I’m a sucker for good lip balm packaging. (Honestly, I was a Burt’s Bees lip balm fanatic until they started pushing tubes on us over their traditional circular tin.) So when I decided to try EOS, it was as much for the cute design as anything else.

EOS lip balms come in a ball, with a rounded mound of lip balm inside. Multi-colored displays of them draw in potential customers, but don’t be fooled. ย The package might look good, but it is in no way functional. Unless you make a habit of wearing cargo pants, you will never fit this in your pocket.

Besides the packaging, the formula is pretty impressive. From what I can tell, all flavors contain shea butter and jojoba oil, which are great for moisturizing. ย The two flavors I have tried, Blueberry Acai (pictured) and Strawberry Sorbet, have both had light, mild scents. They provided long lasting moisture in the summer and in the winter worked well with only 1-2 reapplications throughout the day. Some flavors have added benefits, such as Lemon Drop, which contains SPF 15.

Price for these is $3.29 which is comparable to brands such as Burt’s Bees, but probably more expensive than a few other brands. However, between the decent amount of product and rich formula, one package of EOS lip balm lasts me about 5 months compared to 3-4 months of other brands.

Most websites I checked say EOS is not tested on animals, but it didn’t pop up on any major source I check for animal testing. So take that for what it’s worth.

21 thoughts on “EOS Lip Balm Review

  1. I always wanted to try the EOS balms but the packaging has kept me from doing it. It’s just so stupid, I don’t get why they did it like that at all!!!

    • It’s not functional at all. But for what it’s worth, my lips usually stay pretty moisturized until I get home so that I don’t have to carry it around with me.

  2. I love, love, love Eos! The packaging makes it easier for kids to use and for when the arthritis in my hands flares up, but it does look ridiculous in a pocket. If my lips are really dry I will use Burt’s Bees cuticle cream on my lips before bed. It’s like an extra layer of moisture that helps. Loving your blog!

  3. Unfortunately one of those that did not fall for the EOS lip balms. I have tried several of them, and I don’t think they are doing a lot for me. The light blue minty one is ok. And the green melon smells nicely sweet. But the bright red/orange strawberry sorbet just did not really impress me. I’m glad you are enjoying yours ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I love EOS balms! The container is only good in one situation though, and thats when you’re digging through your bottomless pit purse. Other than that, they’re horribly inconvenient to carry! I think I saw on their website that they make more normal looking balms though

  5. Pingback: Wet n’ Wild Megalast Lip Color in Cherry Bomb Review | Say Hello to Gorgeous

  6. Thanks for stopping by my blog! I enjoyed going through some of your posts! I will definitely follow. Who doesn’t love a great beauty review? I will have to say though, I use to be the biggest fan of EOS, and became addicted applying the balm way too much, and it ended up killing my lips! Be careful not to apply too much because it actually ends up doing the opposite of moisturize. My dermatologist had to prescribe an extra moisturizing Chapstick to repair the damage. Once again, thanks for stopping by my blog! You have a new follower! ๐Ÿ™‚

Comments Show You Care

