Etc. / Eyes / Makeup

Brow Game? Ending the One Size Fits All Approach to Eyebrows

Photo courtesy of Maria Morri

Lovely, medium-thick eyebrows. Photo courtesy of Maria Morri

Every now and then I begin to think my days of youth are past me. Case in point: the obsession with “brow game.” For those of you who don’t know, or haven’t noticed, there is an eyebrow obsession sweeping the Instagram nation and this movement doesn’t limit itself to merely shaping the brows you’re blessed with but actually filling them in and making them thicker.

Sure, when filled in brows look good, they look good, but believe me, when they look bad, they look bad. Ever hear the phrase “Sharpie eyebrows”? Yup.

Promise Phan (who can draw on thick brows with the best of them) demonstrating how it's NOT done in her makeup don'ts video

Promise Phan (who can draw on thick brows with the best of them) demonstrating how it’s NOT done in her makeup don’ts video

Here are some things to consider when deciding on your brow look.

  • Bone Structure
  • Natural Eyebrow Width
  • Natural Eyebrow Hair Growth
  • Natural Eyebrow Shape
  • Coloring
  • Other Makeup
  • Skill Level: Novices might find it easier to fill in their brows with a powder 1-2 shades lighter than their natural eyebrows. Pros, on the other hand, might feel comfortable drawing on thicker eyebrows with a sharpened brow pencil.

Conclusion? Super heavy filled in brows are not for everyone and not for every makeup look. Personally, there are two stages to my eyebrow look

  • I don’t do my brows at all on a no or light makeup day.
  • I fill in my eyebrows only with a light brow powder on darker makeup days.
  • Personally, I almost never use a brow pencil, because with my looks and my eyebrow filling skills, that look is never not going to look harsh.

Trust your instincts! Thick brows might be trendy, but if you think they look harsh on you, they probably do.

And psst, always do what’s right for your face over what’s trendy.

So what do you think? Do you fill in your brows or is this trend just not working on you? Sound off in the comments below!

39 thoughts on “Brow Game? Ending the One Size Fits All Approach to Eyebrows

  1. I purchased Anastasia’s Dip Brow Pomade and have hardly made a dent in it but I’m addicted to the stuff, I have my brows “on” everyday! Hahaha. Sounds silly but it just gives it that little something extra without being too obvious 🙂 It’s a bit tricky to draw on a brow but I just fill mine in since mine are thick and naturally defined. I had an issue with powder making my eyebrows bubbly and too rounded, not so much anymore with the help of the gel/cream.

  2. I love the thick brow look, but it doesn’t work on me! I do need to fill in my brows every day… they are super sparse from the middle to end (it looks like I only have 1/2 brows if I don’t lol). I try to keep it natural though! I just started using Anastasia Brow Whiz, and It’s really great! The key to pencils is to use very light strokes, I was having a difficult time previously.

  3. Many truths to be found here. I also prefer to just fill my brows in a bit. I like how they are naturally for the most part so I just fill in some sparse area, attempt to tidy up the shape, and go a bit darker since I dyed my hair pretty dark. Definitely no drawing on anything for me-I think it would look SO overwhelming and odd on me. Unless I’m doing a weird color or something, then that wouldn’t matter 🙂

  4. Lately, I’m finding out more and more that I was indeed quite blessed when it came down to the eyebrow genes. I got my thick brows from my dad as well as their naturally dark coloring – I basically just have to plug out random strays (though I pretty much have to do this every other day) and I’m good to go. I got a mild eyebrow crisis after getting my current eyeglasses, because the frames are so big and strong. I don’t think the crisis still has quite subsided!

    I appreciate natural brows on all people and I’m insanely bothered by both the thin, drawn-on ones as well as the huge, sharp-cornered super thickly painted/drawn on brows that seem to be oddly popular these days. In general, I trust that most people naturally have the kind of brows that suit their faces the best and it would be smart to just stick as close to that as possible. 🙂

  5. I fill mine in using IT Cosmetics Brow Power Waterproof Perfector and I’ve been really happy with it. I have very light brows so I don’t feel complete unless I fill them in!

  6. I’m from Liverpool where this trend has been going for years, often done very badly, and bizarrely often with very dar brow paired with blonde hair which just looks weird in my book but fashion is a strange thing sometimes! I always define my brows but i always stick to my natural shape, i.e filling in the brows as opposed to drawing any new bits on, mine are thick ish and dark so i don’t feel a need to go for the full on groucho marx look. I love sleek’s brow kit, it’s a good dupe for benefit’s brow zings and about half the price!

  7. Great tips!! I generally don’t fill mine in in the mornings because I’m just lazy/tired! LOL but when I go out, I definitely like to fill them in- it seems to frame the face better when they are framed 🙂 great tips! xo

  8. I use brow powder and sometimes wax. I know my brows are thin, but I like them and think they work for my face. I totally agree that you should just trust your instincts and do what works for you.

  9. I’m a big fan of the thick brow look. I already have nice straight brows, and I don’t trust anyone to pluck or thread them for me, even though I don’t have much of an arch. I usually brush some Vaseline to hold them down on lighter makeup days, or I fill them in with an eyeshadow when I’m wearing a more dramatic look.

  10. Great post—and precisely what I’ve been thinking about lately. I’m actually thankful for the thicker brow fad going around, as I have naturally thick brows. The bad thing about this is I was considering going even thicker in width—actually drawing them in—even if I’ve been quite content with the balance for years and years.

    I usually just fill them in, and mostly for peace of mind. I’m going to get a brow gel with a hint of tint soon, for when I’m even lazier, haha.

  11. with thick brows stealing the spotlight, I’m quite grateful for my naturally-thick brows. like both my parents, sparse brows & hair are not our problem.
    I got my brows trimmed rather way too much when I got my make up done by MUA 2 months ago, and I’ve been feeling kinda obliged to fill them in before leaving the house, in order to look civilized above the eyes. now that they’re growing back to normal, I need only to comb them neatly before I go 🙂

  12. Pingback: What brow game? | go for garbo

  13. Pingback: YOU Tell Me: How Do You Do Your Brows? | Say Hello to Gorgeous

  14. Love the defined brow highlight the face when done right but awful when done over the top eyebrows should be unique to you and your needs loving the HD brow wax amazing for universal looks and multi tonal pallet gives you freedom to customise to your look on that day

  15. Pingback: How To: Quick and Natural Looking Filled in Brows | Say Hello to Gorgeous

Comments Show You Care

