Eyes / Face / Lips / Makeup / Tutorials

Beachy Mermaid Makeup Look

Mermaid MakeupA bright, sunny day calls for a bright look. Let’s get started.

  • Face: I’m in no position to tell anyone how to do their foundation, but since this look is for summer, personally, I used just a thin layer of semi-sheer foundation, no powder, no primer, etc.
  • Eye Primer: Use eye primer to make the look last longer
  • Base: You’ll want to use a white base. Personally, I didn’t have a proper white base on hand, so I used a white eyeliner pencil and filled in my lid and inner eye corner. Do not go into your crease with the base or your eye shadow will crease like crazy.
  • Blue Eyeshadow: Now for the fun part! Take a bright, ever so slightly green toned blue and gently pat that onto your lid. The white base will really help get you that desired intensity here
  • Brown Eyeshadow: Now with your fluffy eyeshadow brush, apply a light brown eyeshadow to your crease and gently blend with just the very upper edge of the blue to soften the line. This helps add definition to the eye.
  • Black Eyeshadow: Now, with your black eyeshadow, trace your lower lash line. Extend that line you just drew up into the outer corner of your eyelid. Make a sideways V. The upper part of the V should start to go into the outer corner of your crease. The lower stem of the V should go onto the outer corner of your upper lash line. Blend well!
  • Eyeliner: Take your liquid eyeliner and draw a medium-thin line on your upper lash line, with just a slight flick at the end. The eyeshadow is dramatic enough that this look doesn’t need bold eyeliner
  • Mascara: Coat well.
  • Lipstick: Almost done! To finish off this look, use a beige-nude lipstick.
  • Ta-dah! A fun beachy look
Better lighting

Better lighting

Products I Used:

  • Buxom Show Some Skin Weightless Foundation in Dim the Light
  • Wet n Wild Coloricon Eyeliner in White
  • Elf Little Black Beauty Book Eyeshadow Palette
  • Elf Liquid Eyeliner in Black
  • Makeup Forever Smoky Extravagant Mascara*
  • Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick in Nude Attitude*

*Tests on animals

FAIR WARNING: If you are going with the eyeliner as base look, I don’t recommend that you rock this look all day. For the first four hours, my eyeshadow was fine with no creasing. Then I went out and when I returned home another four hours later, I experienced major creasing. So done the way I suggest, this look lasts between 4-8 hours.

38 thoughts on “Beachy Mermaid Makeup Look

  1. I like the look. Sometimes it’s fun to wear blue eyeshadow or a high pigment shadow, but I have oily skin, so if I wear base, I have to wear powder. Also, I darken my brows with a pencil when I wear full makeup so when I do a beach look it’s usually one of two things: I wear base and powder with a summery bright or pale pink lipstick depending on my mood, but that it’s it. If I have company (aka hot guy lol) with me then I might do the eyebrows, but I only wear full makeup with mascara if I’m not planning on going in the water. I don’t like the raccoon look and no matter how hard you try a trace of the raccoon seems to stay there. Besides people tell me I have nice skin so I try to look natural at the beach. The waterproof mascara and makeup just has a cakey texture I avoid if I can. I haven’t tried nude lipstick yet. I will havetto try it. I usually wear darker colors because of my skin tone.

    there’s a beach look for everyone. Liked the post. Like your blog. Keep it up.

  2. Pingback: Buxom Show Some Skin Weightless Foundation Review | Say Hello to Gorgeous

  3. oh, my goodness YES !!!!! YES I really *LOVE how your eyes look.. as some 1 else said from another website that i read: & it apply s 2u as well The…LOOK of the eye make-up *P0PS-OUT!!!!! All of course said in the BEST-WAY I LOVE-IT,,,just love it so much, I also have blue eyes now this….i cant wait to try myself U go girl

Comments Show You Care

