Etc. / Makeup

Scoring Beauty Freebies

My little collection

My little collection

Over here at Say Hello to Gorgeous, we’re a fan of freebies. They’re a great way to try out products before buying them and even to stretch out your next shampoo or mascara run. They’re great for us, because we might have a lot less products to review otherwise. So how does one get said freebies?

  • Check freebie websites daily. The internet is a great tool. My favorite websites are icravefreebies and the freebie subreddit on reddit. These websites help you find out what companies are giving out free samples. Walmart and Target’s websites also have a sample section, but samples are not always available.
  • Join a loyalty program. Many loyalty programs offer free samples with purchase, free deluxe samples after reaching so many points and free birthday gifts. Check out my post comparing loyalty program here.
  • Order products you would go to the store to buy online. This one can be tricky. Many stores offer free samples with online purchases, but if you don’t qualify for free shipping, the value of your samples may not level out the cost of having your item shipped. If you decide to go this route, remember to check the website for additional freebie codes. I got a sample of Buxom foundation for free with purchase because of a discount code I found on Sephora’s website. They may be itty bitty, but Sephora is a great resource for freebie codes, if you already need to buy something from their website anyway.
  • Become a couponing queen. Okay, no one is ever going to ask me to be on TLC because of this skill, but I have nabbed myself a free product or two before. The trick is to look for high value coupons (coupons for a few dollars off, or coupons that can be combined with other offers) and then use the coupon at a store that will double your coupon for you. Ex) I once got a $4 off Almay coupon and the grocery store I usually go to doubles coupons. This makes the coupon worth $8 off any product, making many Almay products free.
  • Just ask. Here’s one I hear a lot. You go into a department store and try out a product. You then ask for a sample to take home to make sure it’s right. I would do this, but with a caveat: Don’t ask for a sample other than foundation. Most stores are lenient about giving out foundation samples, but stricter about other products, even moisturizers.

And the one thing I would absolutely NEVER recommend?

  • DON’T blog for samples. Since I write a blog, I feel it is my obligation to say this. Don’t blog if you are only interested in free samples. I blog because it is fun and relaxing. Blogging for freebies simply isn’t worth it. With the amount of time it takes to create a good blog with a strong following, it is approximately 10000000 times cheaper to just buy stuff.

Final thoughts

  • Safeguard your privacy online. You have to determine ahead of time, how much information you are willing to give out. Personally, I use my initials whenever possible and I don’t give out my birthday, except for the loyalty rewards birthday programs. (And if we’re being honest, I only give them a date around my birthday).
  • Get a spam email address. It sounds silly, but between the freebies I sign up for and the contests I enter, I created a whole separate email so my personal account wouldn’t be flooded with junk.
  • Have fun! And if you don’t really want the product, no one says you have to take it because it’s free.

So what do you think? Any tips you use for scoring free products?

22 thoughts on “Scoring Beauty Freebies

  1. Great tips! And, yes, Sephora is awesome about free samples. Did you know if you go into their stores, you can ask them for a sample of any of the perfumes they have? They’ll either give you one already made from the manufacturer or (THE BEST) they will make you one. They spray some into a tiny bottle for you to take home. I love it when they do that because I have yet to find a Sephora sales staff who isn’t more than generous with the sample.

  2. How did you get the full size products, is that like a certain site? I recently signed up with buzz agent and they asked me to join a campaign for some shampoo but I don’t know how often they do that lol

    • I think the only thing I have here that is really full sized is the CK mascara that is still in the box. I got that one from Ulta for my birthday for being a part of their loyalty rewards program.

    • Haha, that just shows how mini everything else is. They are bigger samples, but definitely not full sized. I think I found them on icravefreebies a while ago. Every now and then companies give away samples of their products for anyone to sign up to receive.

  3. Thank you for sharing that information. We “give” away so much money and stuff we could have because we don’t have the time or inclination to do what it takes to get the free stuff. Myself included… but it would definitely save us money if we took up the freebie offers, plus we would get to try new stuff. Have a blessed day.

  4. Great points! Except blogging for samples isn’t all that bad. šŸ˜›
    I’ve turned down some sample offers because it just didn’t make sense for me to review them. I pick and choose products based on whether I’m genuinely interested.

    I rely a lot on blogs and their product reviews and if I’m going to be blogging about something anyway might as well try a new product out and let others know what I think about it. šŸ™‚

    Btw, I saw your comment on my last post! Iā€™m doing a giveaway so you can win of the jewelry featured on my post! šŸ™‚ I hope you can join!

    http://forvanityssake.com/?p=2433
    xo
    Jules

    • That’s great to hear, Jules šŸ™‚ Don’t get me wrong, I really love reading reviews on blogs. I just think people who only blog for the freebies are going to disappointed because you really have to run a successful blog before you can even get samples and that takes a lot of work.

  5. Really like your post and your way of writing! It’s good that you show that freebies aren’t the reason you’re doing this šŸ˜‰ xoxo

Comments Show You Care

