Lips / Makeup

Subtle Ombre Lips

Ombre Lips 1Usually when I see stuff on Pinterest, I drop it in the “leave it alone” category. But then I had 1 minute of free time and no lipstick on, so I figured why not? Let’s try the ombre lip look.

The Colors: I used Revlon Colorburst Lipstick in Candy Pink and the similarly named Rimmel Lasting Finish Lipstick in Candy. The first is a bright medium pink and the latter is a pale frosted pink that would have been sitting in my makeup drawer for an eternity if not for this look.

Rimmel Candy (left) and Revlon Candy Pink. Not the most similar shades of pink.

Rimmel Candy (left) and Revlon Candy Pink. Not the most similar shades of pink.

Application: I am not all that creative or all that prone to following the Pinterest directions. Basically I used the darker color as a lip liner and put the lighter color in the center of my lips. Then I smooshed my lips together to blend.

Reapplication: I’ll be honest. After this wore off, I didn’t even try to reapply it. It just seemed liked too much of a hassle.

Verdict: Surprisingly, I like this. With these two colors, and particularly with the lighter color being frosty, the two lipstick melded together for a subtle look and I, in fact, did wear this out in public.

Ombre Lips 2

So what do you think? Would you rock this look? Have you tried a crazy Pinterest trend? Sound off in the comments section below. I’d love to hear from you.

9 thoughts on “Subtle Ombre Lips

Comments Show You Care

