Eyes / Face / Lips / Makeup

Graduation / Outdoor Makeup Tips

Graduation MakeupSPOILER ALERT: I’ve already graduated. Longer ago than I like to admit. But since some of my lovely readers are still in college (and maybe even high school), I wanted to share my top makeup tips for graduation. This is basically what I wish I would have known for either my high school or college graduation.

  • If wearing foundation, matte is the way to go. Even if you luck out with the weather, being around hundreds or thousands of other bodies certainly produces heat and heat = super shiny face!
  • On that note, a little pressed powder where you’re likely to experience shine goes a long way.
  • Black robe washing you out? Bronzer and blush do their part to add color back into your skin. Just don’t go overboard.
  • Speaking of things the graduation get up does, be sure to pick a hair style that won’t get smushed by  your cap.
  • It’s a long ceremony, keep your makeup fresh by using primer under your eyeshadow and treating your lips to a long lasting lipstick. I’m wearing OCC lip tar, but Wet n’ Wild megalast is a good, cheap choice.
  • And finally, never underestimate the camera’s ability to wipe out the look of your makeup. Extra mascara and eyeliner keep eyes defined on film without having to create a dramatic look.

Those are my top tips. While we’re on the subject, who’s graduating this year? What are your top tips for graduation makeup and outdoor events?

31 thoughts on “Graduation / Outdoor Makeup Tips

  1. This is a very helpful post! I usually tend to forget how the flash washes you off (and it really is a problem since I’m very light handed with my blusher application for example…)
    PS: You’re so pretty girl! 😀

  2. Awesome tips!!! I love them!! I graduated college 7 year ago, but will definitely use these tips for outdoor events!! Thanks!! XOXO!!! 🙂

  3. Thanks for the tips! Luckily I will be graduating next fall and it will not be outdoors lol! But I will definitely be sure to stick to these tips over the summer for outdoor weddings and such! 🙂 great post.

  4. I can’t disagree with your tips 🙂 I was at a semi-formal, outdoor graduation party 2 months back and it proves that good make up & outfit would define the rest of the day. I basically love to wear black (and other dark hues – kinda makes me more confident), since I have medium-toned skin it doesn’t seem to wash me out.
    The formal graduation ceremony would be in a week, I’m rather anxious for that! I’ll be wearing a soft yellow traditional outfit for the ceremony (it’s called kebaya here), guess I’ll have to pay more attention to colors so that I won’t look dead 🙂
    happy blogging, V! 😉

    • Thanks! Yeah, what washes you out will definitely be a personal thing. When I graduated I had my hair dyed almost black, combined with the black robe and I’m super pale to begin with. It wasn’t the worst look, but it sure wasn’t my best.

Comments Show You Care

