Cruelty-Free / Reviews / Skincare

Lush Cupcake Fresh Face Mask Review

LUSH CupcakeLet me start out by saying, I love Lush as a brand. I love their high quality products as well as their campaign to end animal testing. I also like cupcakes. And chocolate. And hey, they have a chocolate mint “cupcake” face mask for spotty skin-like mine! Do you see where I’m going with this? I knew as soon as my trusty Yes to Tomatoes Mask ran out, I’d be heading to the mall to pick this up. So what’s my verdict? Keep reading.

What It Claims To Do: It claims to cool, calm redness and deep cleanse.

What It Does: After leaving on for the recommended ten minutes, I noticed my pores looked, well, gone. I am fairly certain it didn’t actually tighten my pores, but rather sucked all the dirt and oil right out of them to make them invisible. I didn’t really find that it cooled my skin and I don’t have a problem with redness so I can’t test that, BUT I will say that despite the deep cleanse, my face didn’t feel dry afterwards. In fact, my skin felt softer and more moisturized than it normally does.

Application/Waiting Game: When it comes to facial masks, I know a lot of people also have concerns about how the product will feel on application. Unlike other masks I have used, this did not harden my face past the ability to make a facial expression. There was a little stiffness, but much less than other masks. It was also a bit flaky, so beware. I had a bit of trouble applying it evenly, so my recommendation is to just slather it on thick since it has a fast expiration date anyway.

The Expiration Date: This deserves its own paragraph. As much as I enjoyed using this product, we have to address the expiration date issue. This product expires a mere 3 weeks after it is made. If, like me, you apply masks on a weekly basis, that is only 3-4 uses per jar, when there is enough product for maybe 10 uses. Factor in that you might not purchase the mask on the day it’s made. At the store I went to, the newest masks were 6 days old, bringing my total time to use this product to 2 weeks. There isn’t a ton in the container, but darn will I be wasting a lot if I don’t find another way to make use of this product fast!

Price: $6.95 for 2.1 oz.

Cruelty-Free: Naturally, plus it’s vegan!

50 thoughts on “Lush Cupcake Fresh Face Mask Review

  1. This mask sounds good enough to eat! 🙂 I have not bought any of the Lush masks because of their short shelf life. I am a lazy gal who doesn’t use masks regularly so I see myself chucking this pretty much after 1 use.

  2. I really love this mask! It’s so great for the times when my skin is super oily and breaking out. I was a little surprised about the expiration date as well, but I’ve been using my past the date… it still seems to work fine. However, I’m going to get a new one soon. Make sure to save the containers to turn in at Lush for a free mask – I think you need 5.

  3. I liked this one too, though I found it thicker than the other Lush Masks that I had tried and a little harder to spread out on my skin. The one I really like for when my skin breaks out is Cosmetic Warrior. Doesn’t smell as nice, admittedly but it works really well.

  4. This mask sounds so nice! The only downside is the expiration date which is a shame because it sounds like it did wonders. Let me know if you find out any other uses to try and get the most out of the mask before the expiration date.
    : )
    -Marci

  5. Pingback: Rest, Relax, Renew, Repeat | Say Hello to Gorgeous

  6. Great Review – i’m using the Brazened Honey mask by Lush at the moment, and I really like what it’s doing for my skin but I can’t stand the smell! Will give this cupcake mask a try.

  7. Pingback: Freeman Charcoal & Black Sugar Mask Review | Say Hello to Gorgeous

  8. So glad this mask worked out! I’m obsessed with Lush for their quality and allegiance to cruelty-free production, but haven’t tried out masks yet. I’ll be on the lookout for this one soon! Ps- how was the Yes to Tomatoes mask??

    • Yes to Tomatoes is a lovely mask. I think it really helped clear up my skin. 🙂 If you need a mask that’s going to last you longer than 3 weeks (the approximate expiration of a Lush mask) I would definitely recommend Yes to Tomatoes.

  9. I love this mask! This is actually the first product I tried from Lush that got me hooked on the brand. I actually found I could use the masks for about one week after the expiration date without worrying about whether or not there would be adverse skin reactions seeing as you keep them in the fridge.

  10. Pingback: Hard Water Ruined My Skin! | Say Hello to Gorgeous

  11. Pingback: Lush Mask of Magnaminty Review | Say Hello to Gorgeous

  12. I want to get my hands on this Cupcake mask! I’ve been using the Mask of Magnaminty for a long time and it’s great 🙂 But I want to try new masks and this sounds great ❤ -Jee

    • Yes, I love this one! I think I might like it a little better than Mask of Magnaminty. Only problem is that it goes bad so fast. I had to use it twice a week and lay it on thick to use it up before it expired

Comments Show You Care

