Etc. / Makeup / Nails / Skincare

The Summer Beauty Essentials

Hello my lovely readers! Did you have a nice Memorial Day weekend? I hope all of you that work got Monday off and that everyone got to spend quality time with their loved ones. Now that it’s the unofficial start of summer, I thought I’d share my top summer beauty tips with you.

Uploaded with permission from photographer Luca Mengoni.

Uploaded with permission from photographer Luca Mengoni.

Skin

  • Tanning is nice, but I think we can all agree that the sun is dangerous. No matter your complexion, protect your skin from sun cancer with sunscreen (preferably SPF 30 or higher).
  • But hey, accidents happen, and some of us even get sunburn when we wear sunscreen. (Alabaster skin = blessing & curse.) Keep a tube of aloe vera gel in the fridge just in case.
  • Summer heat making your skin extra oily? Switch to a deep cleanser and gel moisturizer, which is particularly good for keeping pores unclogged. Still not enough? Blotting paper is excellent to carry in your purse to mop up excess oil throughout the day.

Hair 

  • If you are anything like me, you about live in the pool during the summer months. Keep your hair from drying out with weekly deep conditioning treatments, like this one.
  • If you’re blonde, chlorine has the extra risk of turning your hair green. Clarifying shampoo is your best friend. Use IMMEDIATELY after swimming in a pool. If you swim fairly often and must get your hair wet, also consider a swim cap.

Nails

  • Okay, fun stuff. After ignoring my toe nails all winter, I make them sandal ready with a pop of red polish. Other summer favorites include bright pink and orange.

Makeup

  • Sun protection is your top priority, so try a foundation with SPF like this one.
  • Hey, lips can burn too, so also check out lip balms with built in SPF.
  • If you are out in the sun, a heavy makeup look can feel like it is about to melt right off. Switch it up with a lighter coverage routine.
  • Finally, don’t let your mascara run! If you plan on getting in the water with makeup, make sure your mascara is waterproof.

So those are my top beauty tips for summer? What are yours? Are you enjoying the warmer seasons? Let me know in the comments below.

26 thoughts on “The Summer Beauty Essentials

  1. Yesssss…summer time….actually I think I am pretty lucky…I am always living in summer time….:) in New Caledonia when it is cold weather on North hemisphere…and escaping south hemisphere for the cherry and strawberry time….I liked your beauty tips for summer… I do have a few diy natural cosmetic tips for hair and skin in summer on my blog too… I like your blog…and am following now!!! Thank you!!!

  2. Absolutely true, sunbathing may be dangerous for the skin. I agree with all your recommendations, thanks for sharing them.
    Personally, I would add to your list two items, which I discovered recently and find absolutely fantastic in summer:
    – a thermal water to spray on both face and body, and
    – a gentle cleanser, not to wipe out tan or dry the complexion too much.

    Maybe you can find them useful as well.
    😉
    Cheers

  3. Great tips! I’m glad so many people are starting to mention SPF in lip balm. I’ve burned my lips once or twice and couldn’t figure out why they hurt so much the day after the beach! My favorite is the Jack Black lip balm with SPF25.

Comments Show You Care

