Lips / Makeup / Tutorials

How To: Rock a Red Lip

Wanna rock a red lip, but don’t know how? I was in the same boat for most of my life. Now I realize that a lot of it is finding the right color and formula, but when we’re on a budget and shopping for our makeup in the drugstore, getting to try on lipstick is a luxury we just don’t have. Here are my tips for pulling off a red lip even with uncooperative formulas.

Red Lips

Application

  1. Start off with a lip liner. When red lipsticks bleed it tends to be more noticeable because of their bright color. Lip liners help with this as well as help your lipstick to last all day. Pro Tip: You don’t have to use a red lip liner. The red lipstick I have isn’t quite deep enough for my tastes, so I’m using the purpley-brown lip liner pictured below in order to deepen the color out.
  2. Apply your lipstick and blot! Another great way to keep your lipstick lasting.
  3. Reapply your red lipstick on top. Extra layers means extra protection against wear
  4. Clean up around your mouth with concealer. Red lipstick can get messy, so if you color outside the lines a little bit, use a trace amount of concealer around your mouth to create a clean line
Your lip liner doesn't have to be red to match your lipstick

Your lip liner doesn’t have to be red to match your lipstick

Other Makeup

  • Eyes: While some suggest simple eye makeup to keep the attention on your lips, bold makeup can be pretty too. The choice is up to you. Even if you choose a simple look, however, you’ll still want to define your eyes to keep your look balanced. Extra mascara can help with that.
  • Face: Red lipstick can bring out red spots and other discoloration in skin. A little foundation and concealer ensures your skin looks perfect.

So there you have it! My top tips for rocking a red lip? Do you wear red lips? What are your tips?

31 thoughts on “How To: Rock a Red Lip

  1. I love darker liners to deepen the richness of bright reds! 🙂 The last lip liner I purchased was a clear one so I could use it with any shade though. I love red lips with smoky eyes, it’s a great night out look. My favorite red is OCC Lip Tar in NSFW although without lip liner it definitely feathers on me. I still love it, it lasts FOREVERRRR.

      • I do! Black Dahlia is among my favorites. I bought a set of 4 Lip Tars a while ago and added a couple more to my stash at IMATS a few months ago. Not any crazy colors though.

  2. I didn’t see the point of using a lipliner way back but now I do. And I definitely agree, it’s all about finding the right color and formula for you.

    x

  3. I love a red lip and my favorites are OCC Lip Tar gloss cause even when the gloss comes off the red stain is still really pretty and I love Sephora color lip last in pure red. – I always try to get a Blue based red as it makes my teeth look whiter! 🙂

  4. I agree, it all depends on your taste if you choose to wear your red lip with a simple or bold eye look. I’ve seen girls rock the red lip with crazy eye colours like nobody’s business 😀

  5. Most people forget that all your red spots and the like come out like woah when you’re wearing a red lip. It’s so high maintenance and the prep work is ridiculous, but I think the results are worth it. ^^

  6. I just bought a set of lipsticks and in there was a red lipstick. I’ve been eyeing it thinking if I was brave enough to wear it, but after reading this blog post I’ll definitely give it a try!

    • Yay! I’m glad to hear it. A lot of people are intimidated by red lips, but they are easy to pull off if you put the right steps in.

  7. I love a red lip! I find that Rimmel Apocalips lip lacquers are amazing! ‘Big Bang’ and ‘Across the Universe’ are beautiful reds that stay on all night.

Comments Show You Care

