Cruelty-Free / Reviews / Skincare

Freeman Charcoal & Black Sugar Mask Review

Happy Hump Day! As some you may have noticed, I’m quite the fan of face masks. They are an essential part of my pamper routine. Recently, I’ve heard a lot of buzz surrounding charcoal products. For those of you that don’t already know, charcoal cleansers and masks are supposed to zap dirt and oil straight out of your pores, thus helping many of us who suffer from acne. So with that on my brain, and knowing that Freeman was a cheap, cruelty-free brand, I decided to try this one out.

Freeman Charcoal and Black Sugar Mask

What It Claims to Do: Detox skin by absorbing oil and impurities without over drying. Then the black sugar gently exfoliates dead skin cells away.

What It Does: This works pretty much like it says it will. It doesn’t over dry, so skin feels soft. It’s not the worst mask at deep cleaning, but it certainly doesn’t work as well as Lush’s Cupcake Mask, for example, which just sucked the dirt straight out of my pores. It does a decent job at cleaning out pores, but remember, you get what you pay for.

Application/Waiting Game: As far as masks go, this has a unique texture. It is neither a clay mask or a peel-off mask. The best I can describe it is as being the same texture as very gentle exfoliating scrub. This makes for an odd application. I’m not sure what would be considered a thick or thin application, but regardless, it was difficult to apply it consistently on my face. I also felt my face warm up upon application, which is something to consider if you have sensitive skin. The entire waiting time was between 5-7 minutes.

Price: $3.99 for a decent sized tube.

Cruelty-Free: Why, yes it is. Glad you asked.

So what do you think? Will you purchase this product? Have you tried any other Freeman masks? What do you think? Let me know in the comments below.

30 thoughts on “Freeman Charcoal & Black Sugar Mask Review

  1. Totally own this and I gave my opinion on my YouTube page. I love it. I like that it is not over drying and I agree when applying it is not like a traditional mask as all. Glad to know I am not the only one who felt the heating sensation on the face.

    • I’ll have to check out your review on your Youtube page. This is the first mask I’ve felt a heating sensation with, I was a little worried it was just me!

  2. This is so interesting! I hadn’t heard about charcoal masks before. Going to the states soon, so hopefully I’ll be able to find some. Where did you buy yours?

    • I bought this one in CVS. I tried Walgreens too and they had some Freeman masks, but not the charcoal one. Have fun in the states 🙂

      • Thanks! I’ll keep my eyes peeled then 🙂 Ya Super excited to get back on North American soil ^^

  3. Pingback: GlamGlow SuperMud First Impressions | Say Hello to Gorgeous

  4. I tried the sachet of this and loved it and now I can’t seem to find the full sized tube :(…Oh well I will definitely continue to purchase this one

Comments Show You Care

