Cruelty-Free / Lips / Makeup / Reviews

NYX Butter Gloss in Merengue Review

The best thing NYX has ever done for its product was including a full sized tube of butter gloss in the Ipsy bag. Seriously. I had been wanting to get another one for some time now, but seeing all you guys’ posts last week pushed me over the edge into making another purchase. I had my eye on Creme Brulee, but when I spotted this pretty lavender shade called Merengue, I knew this one would be the winner.

Merengue Sunlight

In direct sunlight

Merengue Shade

In shade

Color: NYX describes this color as a pink lilac and I would have to agree. Depending on your skin tone, this may skew more towards a cool-toned pink or a lavender. On me this looks like a medium-bright, very wearable lilac. Like the other butter glosses I’ve tried, this formula is surprisingly opaque for a gloss.

Texture: Butter glosses tend to creamy. This feels a touch heavier on the lips than the other color I own, Peaches and Cream. There is still a touch of that lipgloss stickiness. I also found this to be very moisturizing.

Application: This glides on from the tube smoothly. It can take a bit of work to get it to apply evenly, but I wouldn’t say that it’s challenging to work with.

Wear: This wore well for about 3 hours without food or drink and naturally, disappeared at the first sign of a beverage. It did not feather and unlike Peaches and Cream, did not leave a stain.

Price: $4.99

Cruelty-Free: That’s why I love NYX.

So what do you think? Did the Ipsy posts inspire you to buy a butter gloss? Would you rock this lilac shade? Let me know in the comments below!

29 thoughts on “NYX Butter Gloss in Merengue Review

  1. I’ve been wanting to try the butter glosses forEVER but haven’t yet – this makes them sound perfect for summer. I don’t think I could pull off this color but the formula sounds pretty great!

  2. Definitely want to try this colour out! Would be perfect for Spring! & I had no idea that NYX were cruelty free – that’s fantastic!

  3. Pingback: Radiant Orchid Makeup Look | Say Hello to Gorgeous

  4. This is one of my favorite butter glosses, I wear it all the time! It’s the perfect shade of pink that looks great over so many different lipstick options. I also love “Crème Brule” & “Peaches and Cream” as well! & another pro is that they smell ahhhmazzzing! Enjoyed this post a lot! 🙂
    http://chicgeek123.wordpress.com

    • Thanks 🙂 I have Peaches and Cream too, another great one. I’ve yet to try Creme Brule, but it’s high on my list 🙂

  5. Pingback: Spring Lipsticks: Pink Edition | Say Hello to Gorgeous

  6. Pingback: Top 5 Cruelty-Free Budget Beauty Picks | Say Hello to Gorgeous

Comments Show You Care

