Eyes / Makeup

YOU Tell Me: How Do You Do Your Brows?

Happy Tuesday! Hope my fellow Americans had a great 4th of July weekend. Last week, I did a post called “YOU Tell Me”Β in which, instead of talking about me, I heard all about you! I enjoyed reading your comments so much that I wanted to do it again this week. This time, tell me how you do your eyebrows.

Photo courtesy of Maria Morri

Photo courtesy of Maria Morri

Do you like the thick eyebrow look or does that just not work for you? Do you fill your brows in heavily, with a light touch or not at all? I posted my thoughts on the thick brow trend here, but I want to know what you think. Let me know in the comments below.

96 thoughts on “YOU Tell Me: How Do You Do Your Brows?

  1. I have naturally thick eye brows and can’t imagine me having thin ones. I use brow tint to evenly fill it in and also add colour from black to a dark brown. But some people look good in having either brows and still look good. πŸ™‚

    Caryl – http://carylalmelor.com/

      • Hi V, yes, I use a dark brown to shade in the sparse areas. I use a light shade of tint than using black because I think it would look strangely weird on my face. I would use either dark brown or brown for my brows. My natural colour is black but I think it’s a bit boring! πŸ™‚

        Caryl x http://carylalmelor.com/

  2. I use a ginger coloured eyebrow powder to fill in the whole eyebrow. They’re naturally a thick shape but at the centre they’re very blonde so the powder helps to show the true fullness. I love my brows to be really precise and groomed!

      • Yeah, I’m a born and bred ginge! It was a battle to find a ginger eyebrow product, but now I’ve found this one I’ll never change it, it’s wonderful!

    • I have to agree. For light makeup looks, I’ll generally let my brows be and for smokier eye makeup, I’ll do something a bit more dark and dramatic.

  3. I’ve got quite full and dark brows naturally, but they are a bit sparse in some areas. I am quite scared to fill them in, because I’m afraid they’ll look too dark, too full or just plain unnatural. Besides that, most of my friends were (next to) no make up, so they’ll think it’s weird if I do. Yes, I know, I shouldn’t go off on what other people will think, but if I get stupid comments about it, there’s not much fun in make up anymore!

  4. I never touch my brows with makeup of any kind.. I am blessed or cursed with thick dark brows so I used to get threading done now I get them waxed. Most effective way to draw attention to eye is a pencil eyeliner for me. I like them shaped medium
    Thickness and curved or slightly arched.

  5. I have fairly sparse eyebrows, but I get them tinted and shaped at the Benefit Brow Bar and then fill them in lightly and not too thick. Try to keep them nice and natural looking πŸ™‚

      • Just the once. Before that I used to pluck them, but hardly at all because they were so sparse. Unfortunately I was never able to get any shape out of them, so when my friend told me how much she loved them, we made an appointment at the same time and I love them so much now! They are no longer my most hated part of my face and I’ve had so many compliments! What’s the best way to shape sparse eyebrows at home?

      • Now that I really can’t tell you! Part of the reason that I never go to someone else to do my brows is because they grow naturally thin and I keep them in my natural shape. Not much plucking or shaping on my end

  6. I fill in the sparse areas reeeeally lightly (archery from soap and glory is v good) and then put on a bit of clear mascara. Nothing takes me from natural to drag queen like a heavy brow, yet it looks amazing on some people x

  7. I want to start by saying, I really am clueless when it comes to eyebrows, so if I say something weird, that’s why πŸ˜‰
    I have thick eyebrows, but they are good for my face, I think. They do have a tendency to be really crazy wild, but smooth easily.
    However, when I am doing a “movie shoot” (I’ve been experimenting with film-making for just for fun), and really playing with the makeup, I will fill in the middle and outer edges, and it looks good. Other than that, I leave them alone. πŸ™‚ I just have no idea what else I would do!

  8. I pluck mine. I just use a clear brow gel. Right now they’re dyed auburn to match my hair. Even when I was blonde and they weren’t dyed, I didn’t fill them in. They’re big and dark enough as it is. πŸ˜›

  9. Hey V! I really like this idea of yours for ‘YOU tell me’ blog posts!

    If you’ve checked out my makeup posts, you probably know that I do use some brow products to fill in my brows. I don’t fill them in on an everyday basis but when I do, if I don’t have a lot of time, I use the Brow Wiz by Anastasia Beverly Hills in Medium Brown. If I’m not in a hurry, then I use the DipBrow Pomade to fill them in and a concealer to clean up the lines.

    I’m not at all a fan of the very thick eyebrow that is mostly drawn on the skin (eww!) but I do like to slightly extend my inner brow and make the lines a bit more defined if I’m going for a full makeup look πŸ˜‰
    http://fabeleni.wordpress.com/

  10. I love using a pencil. It’s the fastest and easiest way for me. Though it was hard at first to find the right one that didn’t have red undertones or look unnatural (like a sharpie haha) I found my forever favorite. Milanis Easy Brow in Natural Taupe is an amazing pencil. It’s universal enough with my dark brown hair but could be used for blondes as well. Definitely recommended!

  11. I fill mine in using Anastasia’s Dipbrow Pomade in Chocolate πŸ™‚
    And sometimes I’ll just use the matte brown shade in L’Oreal’s HIP Duo called Shady; both with an angled brush and a spoolie!

  12. Great topic! I love the thick eyebrow trend, but mine are fairly thin and mostly blond, so I find that I need to use a light touch when filling them in or risk looking like one of those “this is NOT how eyebrows should look” memes.

  13. I like my brows kind of full, I just fill in the sparse areas with my brow wiz pencil usually. Great post!

    • Thanks. Are your sparse areas by your arch? Just asking because that’s where mine and a few others’ seem to be.

      • Mine are more sparse near the ends, probably from when I used to over pluck them.

  14. I personally only got into filling in my brows a few years ago, but boy does it ever make a big difference! I have naturally quite thick brows and had them thinned out before, but it didn’t suit me at all. I now embrace my thick brow shape, and think it’s probably my best feature! I read your brow post, and completely agree that there is a right and wrong way to do thick brows, so I try not to go overboard with filling mine in.

    • I know what you mean. I’m not even sure it’s a wrong way, but it’s wrong for some people. I have naturally thinner brows and it’s very easy for me to look like I’ve gone overboard.

  15. Hi! First of all I do them “by myself”. I remove hair with a tweezer and I simply fill them with a Benefit pencil, which I buffer with a brow brush. To create the shape instead I use the brush as a sort of ruler: from the side of the nose to the inner corner of the eye to fix the beginning, from the side of the nose to the center of the eye to decide the arch, from the side of the nose to the outer corner of the eye to fix the end of the brows. Have a look at this video for a more technical tutorial πŸ˜‰ https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kB46sI64ym0

  16. I like the full brow look, but not the really dark and heavy coloring that’s sometimes in runway looks. I use my Anastasia Perfect Brow Pencil when I’m doing a full face of makeup and I try to only fill them in to make them look a bit more symmetrical but still natural.
    I’ve always plucked my own brows and so far I’ve only overplucked once. I’ve used the trick where you outline the shape you want with a white eyeliner (I think I used Michelle Phan’s video as a guide) and the one where you fill in your brows how you want them to look and pluck anything outside (a la Wayne Goss).
    I like posts like this! Hope the reply isn’t too long winded.

    • Not at all long-winded! I love hearing how people do things. My eyebrows are naturally pretty thin so I just let them grown in their natural shape and pluck one or two hairs that fall outside of that shape.

  17. I used to use a brow powder to fill my brows up but I have switched to the Maybelline Brow Drama which is a tinted brow gel with fibres in it. It gives a really natural look & tint and keeps them in place all day. I found that’s the quickest way to do them! xx

  18. I used to have totally over plucked brows so I went 3 months without touching them and putting vitamin E oil on them and even after 20 years of over plucking they grew back. I fill my eyebrows in daily regardless of the amount of the rest of my make up with Anastasia’s Brow Whiz pencil – it’s super fine point and spoolie brush on the other end makes it super easy to make small hair like strokes to fill in and beef up my brows.

  19. I say it depends on your hair colour and features, but I think a softer brow look is suitable for everyone while the thick, black brows not so much…I never seen anybody look good with those on, but who knows :)… as for me, I try to use an angled brush when doing my brows and not make them too intense, I think that style is not for me. I never do them darker than my own hair colour and I only accentuate the outer hald of them, since they are very very thin. I would have loved to have more hair in my brows and change shapes all the time, but I am almost bold in the outer half and I work with what I have πŸ˜€

  20. Wow, lots of comments on this post. Took me a few good LONG scrolls to get to the comment box πŸ™‚ Anyways, I have thick brows too so I just fill them in a tiny bit and create a sharper edge (not too sharp though!) along the bottom of my brows with Anastasia’s Brow Pomade. I think the color I got is as dark as my brows, it works because I have dark brown hair. It takes a while to get used to using the brush & gel but I like the effect better than powder. Powder seems to lack definition and makes my brows bubbly, LOL, like horrible apostrophes. Hahahaha

    • You know, I’ve never quite mastered that technique. Being able to do brows with a brow pencil is definitely on my bucket list πŸ™‚

  21. My mom let me tweeze the middle bit of my monobrow away at age 12, finally. Then she’d have to periodically take the tweezers away to prevent overplucking. Mostly though, since having a photo of Gene Tierney taped to the bathroom mirror, I keep to a very groomed line of my natural brows. They are terribly asymmetrical on the median area, just where it’s most noticeable, so I take ‘plucking holidays’ here and there to resist total obsession. On filling in: my Dior brow pencil is my go-to though most days I don’t worry about it, I’ve also got Bobbi Brown eyeshadow in Sable that works well for dramatic filling in. Usually it’s the rest of the face, how made up is it, that determines how intense my brows need to be: red lips call for distinct brows, soft coral blush and gold eyeshadow probably don’t require any brow attention.

    • I have to agree about the makeup. I never fill my eyebrows in when I’m having a mascara and concealer only day. But when I do a heavier smoky eye, I know that my eyebrows will get lost in the overall look if I don’t fill them in.

  22. Pingback: YOU Tell Me: How Often Do You Wash Your Hair? | Say Hello to Gorgeous

  23. I,m kind of feeling left out in this eyebrow department because of my born gender its only natural we don’t hav as a longer eyebrow as a GG Woman hmm? any advice ? in making mine longer & perhaps thicker looking ? any help will do…& another thing..if at all possible i really wouldn’t want to look like my eyebrows would be fake looking I,m looking to be able to PASS as looking like a woman I know that this might be a difficult thing in asking advice & of course i would understand if no 1, really knows I HAVE S000 MUCH TO LEARN OF BEING A CROSS DRESSER & to PASS as to look like a real woman (but) I can & will do it…Kelly

  24. I rarely do my brows, but when I do, I like to keep it light & simple. My brows are thick & arched, they look intimidating when they’re done too much..
    I brush them before applying anything, then I put some brow wax on them. I applied brow powder from NYX (the box includes the wax too), then add some more wax to help them set. As for shaping, I usually get it done by my hairstylist πŸ˜‰

  25. Pingback: YOU Tell Me: What’s Your Best Feature? | Say Hello to Gorgeous

  26. Pingback: How To: Quick and Natural Looking Filled in Brows | Say Hello to Gorgeous

Comments Show You Care

