Etc.

YOU Tell Me: What’s This Twitter Thing?

So I’ve been really enjoying talking to you all via comments and I can safely say that I am glad to have started these “YOU Tell Me” posts. I enjoy them so much in fact, that I’ve been thinking of connecting to you all outside of this blog. Twitter, perhaps?

I’m slightly embarrassed to admit, I’ve never used Twitter before. I have this fear that I will never have any followers and people will all think I’m a loser. While I consider dipping my feet in the 21st century, you tell me:

  • Do you use Twitter?
  • Do you use Twitter personally or for your blog?
  • What do you like/dislike about it?
  • Would you follow me if I started a Twitter?
  • Will you leave your Twitter name in the comments below so I can follow you?

Please help solve the Twitter crisis, and have a happy Hump Day!

56 thoughts on “YOU Tell Me: What’s This Twitter Thing?

  1. I never used twitter until I got a blog and I love it! I had the same worries as you but so many bloggers find each other. It’s also good to join in twitter chats! I’ve found it by far the best social media to get followers on and followers for the blog so I really recommend it! I’m over @jasxcharlotte and of course I would follow you! πŸ™‚ xx

    http://www.jasmincharlotte.com

  2. I’ve had twitter for a long time and I never really got the hang of it. I use it mostly to follow my favorite youtubers/bloggers, but I follow their Facebook pages so it’s kind of pointless. I don’t update it often, but I have my instagram and blog linked to my twitter. Some people love it though.

  3. I used twitter before my blog! At this point my blog was actually a different name but my twitter was @queenbeady so thus this blog was born!
    I use it for mainly blogging now but still interact with pre-blogging followers too.
    I’d follow, get on the band wagon & have fun! Let us know what you are when you do set it up! There is a fab blogging community too.
    Rebecca @ http://www.queenbeady.com

  4. Hiya, I never had Twitter until I started my blog. I use it personally and for the blog. It’s a great way to stay connected with other bloggers and brands (they announce launches, competitions). Also easier to find like minded bloggers πŸ˜‰ love it! But it can get annoying if you follow too many as your Twitter feed will be filled 24/7. I’m @iamcherrylemon !

  5. I agree with the most commenters. I’ve just recently joined twitter and I’m really liking it. We can follow each other if you like @reifylove

  6. Do you use Twitter? I do!
    Do you use Twitter personally or for your blog? I have everything connected so when a post goes up, it goes out to FB, LinkedIn and Twitter.
    What do you like/dislike about it? I like that it’s a different way to connect with people and information. I don’t like the limited characters (but I guess that’s what FB is for) and how convoluted it can get.
    Would you follow me if I started a Twitter? Absolutely!
    Will you leave your Twitter name in the comments below so I can follow you? I’m dgadson09! =)

  7. OMG I feel the same way. I can barely navigate twitter. HAHAHA πŸ˜› It’s such an overload between fb, twitter and instagram – so overwhelming! lol Girl, you let me know when you figure it out then teach me haha:)

  8. I also had and still have all the same fears about twitter. However, I do use it for sharing my blog posts and some random thoughts. It’s also an amazing way to connect with other bloggers. Originally, I had created an account before I started blogging because I wanted to follow people I like (bloggers, youtubers, certain famous people, etc) and I still use it for the same reason too. But I don’t know, I still can’t say I really understand twitter and get the best out of it. πŸ™‚

  9. I started using twitter only after I started blogging. It is fun but I still have not figured out how to get more people to follow your blog via twitter..either ways its a great way to know about the latest and upcoming products from the brand itself πŸ™‚

  10. I use twitter a lot and I like it because no matter what I write or rant about there’s always someone that sides with me. I would definitely follow you πŸ™‚ @d_fuentes20

  11. I do use Twitter although I really didn’t get it at first. In a nutshell it’s like a status update on Facebook… and nothing else. I feel like it’s mostly useful for following people unless you have something like a blog or you’re a celebrity. I follow a lot of bloggers but I also like to follow accounts like BBC news so I can have some idea of what’s going on in the world outside of my little bubble. I’ve been loving your blog so I’d definitely follow you if you started an account! If you would like to follow me as well my username is @katilia16

  12. I only got twitter because my friends started getting into it. In the beginning, I didn’t know how to use it, but even now I think I’m still learning. Like you, I find FB is a much easier space, but now I use Twitter for so many things. If you do decide to create one, let us know, I am sure you will build up your followers in no time at all! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Caryl -http://carylalmelor.com/

    • Thanks Caryl πŸ™‚ I’m not so much concerned about building up a ton of followers, so much as not getting any followers at all. I don’t know quite how twitter works so I feel like it might be hard for people to find my posts on that as opposed to wordpress

  13. I do have twitter @mizshaazstyle, and i’ll follow you if you do it get! I do think is not for everyone, half the time i have no clue what’s going on. Everyone tells me to get on instagram, but i have the same fear as you lol.

    • Thanks mizshaaz. Instagram might be a step too far for me too. I watch Catfish too often. I have to watermark all the pictures with my face on it, for fear that someone will pretend to be me online.

  14. I’ve been using twitter for quite a few years now and I think it’s a great social networking tool!!! i actually use it personally but i also use it to publicise my blog and let my friends know i’ve got a new post published! if you’re worried about not having many followers, you could do what i did and kind of mix up your twitter content, using it for both personal use as well as for your blog, so you could get all your friends to follow you! you could then get your blog followers to follow you on twitter by having it on your sidebar so it’s easier for them to navigate to your twitter page!

    i’m @iamzannnn on twitter and i’ll be more than happy to follow you when you get an account!! ^^

    • Awesome, thanks! I don’t know that I would use it for personal stuff, because I see enough of my friends on facebook, but it’s good to know twitter has a good following in the blogger community.

  15. I’m relatively recent to Twitter, and I only started it specifically for the blog since I thought it would be another way to connect. I never had a personal one because Facebook is bad enough as it is, and I wasn’t really interested in seeing even more of the typical narcissistic pointless social media posts there too haha. I wouldn’t say I’m on there too much, but I did win a give away because of Twitter once! But if you do create one, you know I’ll follow you πŸ™‚ I think there are a couple different names used to find people…(I’m obviously no Twitter expert) but mine are chrissy_kat or @acasualbeauty, If you join I’ll see you there!

    • Awesome! I couldn’t see myself on twitter too much either, but I think it could be a good way to connect to other bloggers on a personal level and because sometimes I have ideas for posts that are literally just one sentence beauty tips haha.

  16. I started a Twitter account yesterday. I have absolutely no idea what I am doing on there, but I wanted to connect with some YouTubers, and so I started it. I am sure I will pick it up soon, though. πŸ™‚
    I will follow you if you get an account πŸ˜€

  17. I opened a Twitter when I first started my blog, but only recently (like past few days) I’ve started to actually use it. It’s actually kinda fun and once you start to find other bloggers, it’s quite enjoyable. My twitter is @krystiencounter and I’ll be sure to follow you when you join!

  18. I thought Twitter was pointless until I started a blog. I use it to promote my posts, but also for random fun, to follow people in my city, people with similar interests, and as a source of news! I would follow you! πŸ™‚ I am on there as @TheLadyOlive πŸ™‚

  19. I had twitter for a while, but I didn’t use it very much until I started my blog. It’s awesome for getting in touch with other bloggers and people who have your same interests. I do a lot of “mommy stuff” and we have mom chats with people from all over the world, it’s so fun! Love your blog by the way! If you decide to create an account follow me @theUNhousewife

  20. Follow me (and tweet me, so I’ll know to follow you back!) @BudziakBeauty. I was in to twitter a lot more in the past (when I had more time). Definitely check out http://www.mommyblogexpert.com/p/twitter-parties.html. Twitter parties/chats are a great way to connect with other bloggers and win prizes! Nowadays, I’ll repost a photo from IG or share an interesting news article or sale on Twitter. There’s beauty chats too, search #bbloggerschat. Oh and if you ever participate in a twitter party, be sure to use Hootsuite or Tweetdeck, they make it so much easier to refresh & reply to the most up to date tweets. Takes a while to figure out but once you get it, it’s kind of fun.

  21. hello lovely, i have a twitter and i must admit its more for the blog than personal – i have a separate one for that simply cause blogging at the moment is more of a guilty pleasure. i generally use it to follow celebs – its almost like a free gossip magazine!
    Although it has proven useful. For example I was feeling flat the other day and needed a new song to pump me up. I tweeted, asking for advice and within 10 seconds I had suggestions which were fab. So it is a good tool to use.
    I’d happily follow back if you did enter the twittersphere!
    Oh and best of all….GREAT way to communicate with your favourite companies. Some will even retweet and recommend your blog so if you want to get your name out there, its pretty handy. If not, thats cool too, companies tweet about sales, comps etc which is also good to know because its current. Hope that helps x

Comments Show You Care

