Etc. / Fashion / Makeup

YOU Tell Me: Where Do You Get Your Style Inspiration?

I’ve done this quite a few times and I really love it. Instead of me telling you what I think, I like hearing what YOU think. Today’s topic: style inspiration.

Marylin Monroe

Marylin Monroe

So forgive me if I have to talk a little about myself first. I get inspiration from a variety of places, including the ones you might expect like Kim K. and YOUR blogs. Then more unusual ones including movies like Clueless and 13 Going on 30 (Uh oh, am I showing my age?) I feel pretty inspired looking at flapper wear from the 20s, and conversely, slinky bombshell dresses from the 50s/60s. My first icon was Brigitte Bardot when I saw a headshot of her in a magazine proclaiming that cat eye makeup was back. I was 9 and utterly mesmerized. I still want to steal her look, haha.

But okay, this really is about you and I want to hear: who or what inspires your style choices? Let me know in the comments below 🙂

50 thoughts on “YOU Tell Me: Where Do You Get Your Style Inspiration?

  1. Fun post! You’re sweet to share your style influences and to ask for ours as well. I, too, love Audrey. She was amazing. I love the effortless sophistication of Parisian women, as well. Thanks for sharing. :o)

  2. I would say my inspiration comes from 1)personal choice & comfort (2) magazines and online celebrity styles.. But I never copy anyone… What looks great on others almost always doesn’t work for me. I am critical of my pictures and what I see in the mirror. And since I don’t walk around as a photoshopped version I stick to a “conservative and safe” dressing rather than “over the top crazy experimental” and be a laughing fool …

  3. I guess for myself, being a little more modest and more girly, my beauty inspiration would be Grace Kelly. 🙂

  4. Great post! Some of my favorite makeup/hair style icons are Ginnifer Goodwin, Sophia Bush, Lana Parilla and Maggie Gyllenhaal. They have dark hair and lighter eyes (Lana is the exception with brown eyes) and are not far away from me in age, so I don’t feel like I am trying to emulate a teeny bopper 🙂

      • Yeah, there are a few trends I feel a little too old for. I like crop tops because they remind me of the 90s when I was still too young for my parents to let me get away with that. But I just can’t do it, lol. Without makeup, a lot of people already mistake me for under 21.

  5. my absolute style icon is Audrey too. and her sophisticated style is rather easy to translate in today’s relaxed fashion. but I also like the modern street style. I follow fashion bloggers from around the world, like a little creeper 🙂 xx

  6. This post automatically caught my eye because Marilyn Monroe and Audrey Hepburn are both huge inspirations for me. I’m pretty much inspired my anything glamorous. I love seeing places I’ve never seen before and taking pictures of every unique experince I have and that can give me a whole new outlook on what I want to add to my wardrobe. I also love anything that speaks to being bold, unique, and confident… from Nicki Minaj and 80s Hip Hop to Grace Kelley, vintage decor, and The Great Gatsby.

    Love your blog<3

    xoxo, Kayla
    kaylacheyenne.wordpress.com

  7. Hi V, oh no !!!! I will try my hardest to keep this kind of short lol but that,s NEVER easy 4Me lol hmm?? who to start off with? Lately well, of course it has been websites that cater to cross dressers that’s with out say & I do hav to say there are some really, really, good 1,s & 1,s that U jus kno to stay away from not to say that other people cant find happiness in what they think they like..So for me…as far as some of the looks of cross dressers looking very very close to what a real woman looks like I fell in love* with a website called suddenlyfem.com Some of the models look very *Pretty kind of different lol for my male-side of me to be calling a t-girl *Pretty..lol when Kelly Matures more…. she will also start to wear a real lot of the clothing that they sell on that website along with any other items they sell. & I also have been goin on a photo sharing website called flicker & the same feelings,,, it is really S0000 *Amazing of how some cross dressers look…..I am not saying that every 1 on there that’s a t-girl can PASS as to looking like a GG / Real woman (BUT) the 1,s that can PASS O.M.G. !!!!! words cant describe it So for me…those are jus a few & now for….real woman who i think. inspire me of course Marylin Monroe , I have always loved the look of Jacklyn smith from charlies angels & i just some how? pick up from her she is a sweet person too. & who can forget I dream of Gennie !!! oh nooo, I think? I should S.T.O.P. now because i can keep goin on & on & I just might be starting to show my age more & more lol V, very good idea of this Blog……U go girl!!!!! I *LOVE-IT Kelly

    • That’s awesome that you’ve found some great websites 😀 No worries about showing your age, haha. I know who all those people are

  8. 1st, you are so dang pretty! NATURALLY pretty at that.
    But I’d say my inspiration comes from partly from trending things, it’s usually the easiest to get, haha! Then sometimes it comes from not WANTING to be like everyone else. But for me it’s about comfort and style combined. I’m getting a little more risky (in my mind) but I’ve lost over 50 lbs. so I’m starting to feel more comfortable in wearing things I wouldn’t have before. (Sorry for the novel.) This really made me think! Can’t wait to see more!

  9. I love browsing street styles on Pinterest or blogs. Often a times they show me how I can differently combine the pieces in my closet and make it look put together yet seemingly casual 🙂 great post as always!

  10. I’ve got no clue. I don’t think I even have a clue about style – hah! I just… go to a store or browse online and go ahead based on “oh that’s neat”. 😛 I’ve definitely had more misses than hits in the past…. like a purple velour outfit that consisted of “jazzpants” and collared shirt with trumpet sleeves… paired with purple and white gradient sunglasses and giant hair. Yep. And I can’t even say it was the 70’s.

  11. I love to see what *real people* are wearing — Bill Cunningham’s photos of people on NYC streets in The New York Times Style section are so fun and inspiring, giving me courage to wear something different and not feel self conscious!

    • I love those types of sections! When I used to live in Philly, I used to look at Rube Harley’s feature in the Daily News, which was similar to that 🙂

  12. Love this post idea!!! It is sooo hard to pick a source of inspiration but I’ll try hehe, Instagram is a biggy for me, Pinterest too, sometimes I’ll type in an item I want to wear and thousands of ways to wear it pop up! When it comes to individuals, I love a bit of Miranda Kerr, Lara bingle, Alexa Chung…the list goes on hehe x x x

  13. Pingback: YOU Tell Me: Do You Have a Signature Scent? | Say Hello to Gorgeous

Comments Show You Care

