Cruelty-Free / Eyes / Makeup / Reviews

NYX Pearl Eyeshadow Base Review

Hello and hello again. On Saturday, I went to a charity fundraiser and created a really beautiful, vibrant eyeshadow look—and when I tried to take pictures to show you, I realized it was dark outside and between the lighting and my camera, I was just not going to do the look justice. So instead, I bring you a review of the main tool I used for this look, Nyx Eyeshadow Base in Pearl.

NYX Pearl Base

What It Claims: Claims to make eyeshadows more vibrant and to help them last longer without creasing.

What It Actually Does: It definitely helps make your eyeshadow pop. Below I provided proof of just how much brighter it can make eyeshadow. Because of the pearl finish, it also makes eyeshadows a bit more shimmery. As to making it last longer–eh. I put primer under it, but really I think it’s the layer directly below the eyeshadow that affects whether it will crease. This started to crease on me around the 4 hours mark, which is longer lasting than eyeshadow on its own, but only half the wear time of when I use a primer instead.

(l to r): base alone, eyeshadow + base, eyeshadow alone

(l to r): base alone, eyeshadow + base, eyeshadow alone

(l to r): eyeshadow alone, eyeshadow + base, eyeshadow + base, eyeshadow alone

(l to r): eyeshadow alone, eyeshadow + base, eyeshadow + base, eyeshadow alone

Price: $7.00

Cruelty-Free: You better believe it.

So what do you think? Have you tried this product? Do you have a different go to base? Let me know in the comments below!

44 thoughts on “NYX Pearl Eyeshadow Base Review

  1. I haven’t tried any of the drugstore eyeshadow bases/primers because when I got into makeup the only ones with good reviews were high end. I’d probably pass on this just because I don’t care for shimmery whites. For actual primers my favorite is the one from NARS. It just seems to last the best on me! For colored bases I like the MUFE Aqua Creams, Maybelline Color Tattoos, and a few of the MAC Paint Pots.

  2. This was one of the first products I tried from Nyx and I still love it. I’ve found that if you use an additional primer underneath the nyx base it lasts longer before creasing!

  3. What’s the difference between an eyeshadow base and a primer? They seem to do the same work whenever I use them. If they are pretty much the same, shouldn’t you buy the longer lasting primer?

    • Some primers and bases do the same things. Bases are mainly to make your eyeshadow brighter while primers make your eyeshadow last longer. Some bases supposedly make your eyeshadows last longer too, but not as long as primers in my experience. So if you’re looking to make your shadow last, go with the primer. If you want to really make your eyeshadows pop and look brighter, go with base

  4. I wish that your camera worked lol for me…from what I hav just wrote I guess U can pickup that for me…in learning these tricks of the trade i really *NEED to see the results instead of reading about the review, ok well next time…lol from the looks on your hands of the product/color w0w…it sure looks like it can be a *GREAT looking/popping color for Kelly eyes… she does hav blu eyes !!!! thanx V, Kelly 🙂

  5. Thanks for the review. I have been looking at this eyeshadow base for a while but just wasn’t sure about it working good enough for a purchase. Now I think I’ll be heading to Target.

  6. Pingback: Green Eyed Gal Makeup Look | Say Hello to Gorgeous

  7. Pingback: Eyeshadow Primer vs Base: A Guide | Say Hello to Gorgeous

  8. Pingback: Makeup Challenge Day 8: Touch of Purple | Say Hello to Gorgeous

  9. Pingback: How To: Rock Bright Eyeshadow | Say Hello to Gorgeous

Comments Show You Care

