Face / Makeup / Reviews

Benefit’s the POREfessional Review

I’ve seen good reviews, I’ve seen bad reviews, and the point is that I’ve seen a ton of reviews on Benefit’s most hyped product–the POREfessional. So when I received a sample after winning a contest with fellow blogger, Caryl Almelor, I knew I had to chime in with my two cents on the product. What did I think? Keep reading.

POREfessional Primer

What It Is: A pro balm that goes on sheer, but minimizes the appearance of pores and fine lines. Can be worn alone, under or over makeup.

My Experience: I’ve read mixed reviews, but for me, this did exactly what it claimed. My pores are only visible on my cheeks and the bit of forehead between my eyebrows, so I limited my application to that area. It was amazing to watch my pores disappear.

But Do You Need It? As amazed as I was with how effectively this made my pores disappear, I was questioning how much I needed it. I honestly can’t see myself bothering to apply this on foundation free days, and when I wear foundation, I tend not to notice my pores. If your pores are very noticeable with foundation or if your foundation sinks into your pores, then I would recommend this product. Otherwise, it might be a pass.

Price: $31.00 for the full size

Cruelty-Free: Benefit’s policy is to not test on animals “except where required by law.” That last part generally means that yes, they do in fact, test on animals and are CHOOSING to sell their products where animal testing is required by law (China) or that they are using ingredients that require animal testing.

So what do you think? Have you tried this product? Do you want to try this product? Let me know in the comments below!

62 thoughts on “Benefit’s the POREfessional Review

  1. Pore Fessional has been on my radar for about a month now. I have only heard good things about it but like you my main concern is “is it a necessity”. Because I am a MUA I have tons of MUA associates and even though I’ve heard nothing but good things I still wonder if this is a $31 investment that I can continuously make for one product, especially when I use my products on multiple people.

    GREAT REVIEW Gorgeous ❤

  2. I have this and tend to use it only on occasion. It does help a lot in reducing the appearance of my large pores around the creases of my nose and on my cheeks. I tend to be all over the place with my makeup routine 🙂 If you want to try a good, lightweight primer, try Laura Mercier. Its awesome. Nordstrom carries it and like Sephora, will give samples of anything.

    • Good to know! I hate when stores won’t give out samples of face products–I’m not asking for a lipstick or something I could swatch now

  3. I’m on my second full-sized tube of this primer and I LOVE it. I don’t think I’ll get it again though because I’d like to experiment with some new primers. I’ve heard great things about Smashbox primers.

  4. I agree with you, it’s a product that works well but you don’t necessarily need it! Esp for the price that it is. I use The Face Shop’s Beauty Balm and I find the results are identical, except that it’s half the price 🙂

  5. Great review! Did the effect come in after a few days or longer? I’m not sure if I want to spend $31 on this pore remover (i usually just use a Vitamin C serum to brighten my complexion), but I suppose if the effect is very noticeable then it’s worth a try 🙂

  6. I did a double take when I saw this, I did a post just last week on Maybelline’s baby skin primer which looks just like the benefit one but at £7.99, way cheaper. Check out my post over at quickbeautybites.com

  7. I have this too but have only used it once because I was allergic to it 😦 I broke out in a bad rash all over my face the next day. The joys of having sensitive skin!! Luckily it came as part of a set and I didn’t buy the full size product 🙂

  8. I’ve got this product and find it’s amazing! I would only ever use it on occasions because although it works it also clogs up the pores which is not so chic. Fab product and an even fab review. Xoxo

  9. Pingback: Perfectly Posh Sample Haul | Say Hello to Gorgeous

Comments Show You Care

