Lips / Makeup

Kylie Jenner Lip Color for Pale Girls?

Happy Monday! I want to start out by saying that I don’t normally emulate Kylie Jenner’s beauty routine. At 17, she is younger than some of the students I teach so it feels a little weird to try to copy her style. That said, it’s nearly impossible to escape the obsession with her lips and it’s time I heeded the demands to answer this important question. How do you get her signature lip color? Internet reports that she uses Mac’s Whirl, but for us girls with pale skin, using this color does not have the same effect. So what did I use? Keep reading to find out.

Kylie Jenner

  • I’m starting off with Nyx lip liner in Nude Pink. This is similar to Whirl, but being slightly lighter and pinker makes it more flattering for those of us with alabaster skin
  • Using this lip liner, I’m going just barely, barely, slightly outside my natural lip line. Kylie claims to overdraw her lips (others claim it’s the lip injections), but I think the super overdrawn lip look is *cough* whack. I’m then filling in my entire lip with the liner.
  • Now I’m taking a slightly browner lip liner and tracing around the outside of my lips
  • Using the Nyx Nude Pink, I’m going back over that brown line, softening it up and blending it in.
  • I’m leaving my bottom lip liner and teensy bit more noticeable, because that’s what I see Kylie do. It doesn’t look so obvious in person without the zoom camera and the lighting, haha!
  • Then I’m slightly parting my lips for the perfect pouty lip pose πŸ˜‰

Well that’s it. I actually rather like this look. I’m writing mostly hereΒ about getting the right color. If you want to know how to get her full, full lips, there are MANY tutorials all over the internet.

Have you tried a makeup look from a celebrity you don’t particularly admire? How do you like this look? Do you think I adjusted the color well for paler skin? Let me know in the comments below!

41 thoughts on “Kylie Jenner Lip Color for Pale Girls?

  1. Great post! I actually already have the NYX Nude Pink liner. A look I will definitely try out being pale as well. πŸ™‚ xo

      • Even they’re way younger than I am. Believe it or not, I’m actually 40 (though most think I’m in my late 20s when they first meet me). Growing up my style icons were pop stars like Madonna & Cyndi Lauper or super models like Cindy Crawford, Claudia Schiffer, Christy Turlington & Linda Evangalista. πŸ™‚

  2. I hear that *PALE* stuff, sister!

    Jeez, even products claiming to be nude look dark and intense on my pale pale lips. I was once very inspired by Dita Von Teese’s crimson lips and since she’s Snow White pale I assumed it would look perfect on me as well. Turns out I guessed wrong, and haven’t tried any bold lips soon.

    I stick to my guns of nude – with a slight glitter or pastels, and it works best for me. Anything else that doesn’t resemble my lip colour looks almost obscene.

    And duh, *ahem* Kate Upton is even younger than my baby bro, and Kylie Jenner is even off the charts! I like that colour on you, I like nude lips with strong eyes on us pale girls. Very Olivia Wilde.

    • Thank you. And I guess with Kate Upton and Kylie Jenner, I am not ready for these sex symbols and style icons to be younger than me! I’m so used to taking style advice from people my age or older, I can’t deal with these youths setting the trends, ahaha!

  3. hmm? to totally get a wayyyy different point of view,,, from me a cross dresser I can jus say: as far as what i look for in styles & looks & really who-ever it is…if i like-it…hey…well i,ll also try it too….& take it from there…& this is jus coming from a person that is born a guy…that jus so happens to *enjoy the looks of woman…& yes i wont lie either there are SOME,, woman that jus so happen to *stand out more then others…with the right type of makeup or the type of clothing that is worn.. Heels..open toe heels,,, gets me (all) the time !!! lol & that is either if I,m in guy-mode or *Fem mode,, & V, that shade on your lips…it does look very *nice on U too.. this post was also nice to read… Kelly !!!!!!

      • I have this one, and it’s a killer! I also have Revlon Colourburst lip butter in Peach Parfait and Avon Color Trend Kiss’N’Go in Shimmer (which is now Amethyst, I think) – the second one looks darker but blends perfectly with my lip colour!

  4. I’ve heard she uses Whirl and also Soar, both of which I have and love but they don’t look “nude” on me either. Its hard to find a good pale lip shade when you’re pale. I will definitley give the NYX shade a try!

  5. Good make up is good make up. So it doesn’t make sense to me that her age even matters in this case, specially if we’re just talking about lip colors. She does have some amazing makeup looks, and I think it’s great that we can pull some inspiration from that.
    That said, I think this color is so pretty! I’m still trying to find one that will work for my skin tone. πŸ™‚

  6. I’ve been searching for a long time for nice nude, currently use no7 nude lip liner but it is a bit dark on me.
    Love this colour on you though and thanks for liking my post.

    X

  7. I feel like this lip trend is very much like the red lip. You have to find the right shade for your complexion. I think you nailed it with these colors!

  8. Pingback: NYX Pump It Up Lip Plumper in Kim Review | Say Hello to Gorgeous

  9. Pingback: Pretty Little Liars Aria Inspired Makeup | Say Hello to Gorgeous

Comments Show You Care

