Cruelty-Free / Lips / Makeup / Reviews

NYX Pump It Up Lip Plumper in Kim Review

Good morning, beauties. A few weeks ago I made a trip to Ulta for a new lip liner (featured in this tutorial here) and spotted this lip gloss. I’m not a big fan of lip plumpers, but I thought the color was such a pretty shade of peach that I picked it up anyway. So what did I think? Keep reading to find out!

NYX Pump It Up Lip Plumper Kim

Color: As I said, the peachy color was what attracted me to this gloss in the first place. The color looks a bit paler when you first apply. Fortunately, lip plumpers boost blood flow to your lips, brightening up your lip color, which nicely balanced the paleness of the gloss. I think the final color you get is a very pretty peachy nude. Kim is a medium-sheer gloss with a high shine finish.

Texture: Ugh, and this is why I dislike gloss. Although I’ve raved about the consistency of NYX’s butter glosses, NYX didn’t do so well with the lip plumpers. This has your stereotypical sticky, tacky lip gloss texture. Worse, it seems to hang in your lip lines.

Application: Standard lip gloss. It leans sheer, so it’s easier to get the color even. No complaints.

Plumping Powers: I couldn’t very well do a review of a lip plumper, without talking about how well it plumps. First, I’d like to say that although some reviewers claimed this burned, personally I felt a mild tingling sensation, but nothing painful. My lips felt a little bigger when I pressed them together, but I didn’t notice a difference just looking at them

Wear: When you apply several coats like I did, this lasts for roughly 3 hours without eating.

Price: $5.50

Cruelty-Free: Yes

So what do you think? Have you tried this? Do you like the color? Are lip plumpers your thing? Let me know in the comments below!

26 thoughts on “NYX Pump It Up Lip Plumper in Kim Review

  1. I myself have not used it …yet,, I have been told by another C-dresser it was the best purchase they bought So I too will be trying this type of product myself in the future,, & this is also in the workings as im speaking now !!! I would want to use maybe? a darker shade….& yes,,, this shade looks nice on U V,

    • Thanks Kelly. If you go with this brand, look up the shade before you make a purchase. Some of the colors are very sheer! have a great Monday 🙂

  2. I love the color! I’m not a huge fan of lip plumper mainly because I don’t like the way it feels on my lips. Three hours seems like a pretty good amount of time for a gloss to last! I’ve always been a huge fan of Lancome’s juicy tubes because they last so long! I bet you don’t like them because they are too sticky?! 😉

    • I don’t think I ever tried them. I tend to stay away from gloss because of the stick factor, but I gave this a chance since I’ve had such good luck with NYX butter gloss

  3. Pingback: Fall Lipsticks: Nude Edition! | Say Hello to Gorgeous

  4. I have this in Kim also, nice feel to the lips but a little light for me. If you want a truly spectacular lip feel try Sexy Mother Plumper by Soap and Glory it’s like having Pop Rocks on your lips.
    Very invigorating.

Comments Show You Care

