Eyes / Face / Fashion / Hair / Lips / Makeup

DIY Flapper/ Gatsby Girl Halloween Costume

Truth be told, I don’t get a lot of chances to flex my creative makeup skills. So chances are, when I come across a costume that relies heavily on makeup, I have or will dress up as it. I love how the 1920s are all about glamour, rule-breaking and redefining what we consider sexy. Loose fitting dresses? Short hair? Dark eye and lip makeup? Well that’s what all the hot girls wear. Want to see how I pulled this look together from last year? Keep reading to find out.

halloween diy flapper

  • Dress: Any shorter, flowy dress will do. Truth be told, I prefer using dresses from my own closet rather than purchasing from a costume store. They’re higher quality, plus you get the chance to wear them again. I wouldn’t hesitate to wear this dress as a guest to a wedding. This was originally from Modcloth, but is no longer available.
  • Makeup: When I see flappers skip out on the 1920s makeup, I must admit, it makes me a little sad. Young women in the 1920s were all about playing up their eyes AND lips. How fun is that? Real flappers were big on bright red lips, but I went with a plum because it better matched the eye makeup, but still has that bold effect. See, smoky eyes and bold lips can go together.
  • Hair: Of course you can go for that Catherine Zeta Jones in Chicago straight pageboy hair style, but if you don’t want to spring for a wig and you have longer locks, curly hair is great for achieving a faux bob. Google faux bob and a billion tutorials will surface. Don’t forget your headband.
  • Accessories: What’s a girl to do without a long string of pearls? Reading The Great Gatsby while doing so is a special added touch.

So what do you think? Would you rock this look? Have you ever been a flapper for Halloween? Let me know in the comments below.

34 thoughts on “DIY Flapper/ Gatsby Girl Halloween Costume

  1. A few of my friends had a Gatsby party a few years ago and I basically wore the same thing tho I bought a black bob wig and I had a black dress. It was a fun night. Need to find pics.

Comments Show You Care

