Hair / Tutorials

Top 6 Winter Hair Tips

Happy, happy Monday everybody! On Thursday, I asked if anyone had any post requests (along with asking if anyone wanted to collaborate–emailed the first 9 people and I will try work something out with everyone else). One of the requests came from the brilliant Lena, who requested tips for keeping hair healthy in the winter. So here we have it: My top tips for healthy winter hair.

Arvazallia Curly

  1. If you haven’t already, invest in a humidifier. All that warmth from your heater is just sucking the moisture out of the air. Time to add it back in.
  2. Silk pillowcases. Yes, it sounds a bit luxurious, but it has its upsides. Hair is less likely to get damaged than when using a cotton pillowcase.
  3. Wind proof your hair. As if the wind isn’t bad enough for your style, it’s probably knotting your hair up, which no one likes. Try wearing a hat or tying your hair back on your commute.
  4. I almost didn’t want to say this, because it’s a bit obvious, isn’t it? Switch to a deep conditioner. Other great options include a leave in conditioner or a hair maskย in addition to your current routine. This should stop hair from looking dull and feeling dry.
  5. Dandruff shampoo–even if you don’t need it at any other point in the year, you might need it now. Look for shampoos with zinc and sulphur to keep flakes away.
  6. And finally, never leave the house with wet hair. Seriously, wet curls can get mega crunchy.

So there you have it: my top tips for keeping hair in tip top condition during these winter months. What are your tips for taking care of your hair in the winter. Let me know in the comments below!

26 thoughts on “Top 6 Winter Hair Tips

  1. Great tips V! Living by the sea in Ireland my hair is always getting blasted with the harsh salty air, not to mention blow drying/straightening and curling *sigh* However I recently bought a little spray bottle of Argan oil which I must admit is amazing – it’s really protecting it and the smell is lovely, like you’ve just stepped out of the hairdressers ๐Ÿ™‚ Karen x

    http://www.confettiandcurves.wordpress.com

  2. I wish I knew this when I spent my winter in Canada last year (I’m from a country where winter does not exist). If you have skin care tips for winter as well that would be awesome so I could hopefully be prepared for my next winter experience lol

  3. I must confess that I dont take care of my hairs, never have time to treat them. No surprise that they are dry. Here we live in a very dry country, it dont help ! >.<
    But I can definitely invest in a silk pillow case for the sake of my poor hairs !
    Xoxo
    Michelle

    WondersReviews Recently Posted : Perfect REDS Combo of Lips/Nails [GUERLAIN, SISLEY, DIOR : RougeG RougeParade, Ruby LipLiner, Star NailPolish, Review, Photos, Swatches] Le combo de ROUGES Parfaits pour Lรจvres/Ongles

  4. Leave in conditioner is year-round for me. I usually use the Ion Miracle one you can get at Sally Beauty. It’s 100% Vegan and works pretty well. I need to repurchase soon as I just ran out again.

Comments Show You Care

