Hair / Tutorials

How To: Heatless Curls

Do you ever have any posts that you just have on the back burner, and never seem to get out? This was one for me. I took the picture forΒ this post maybe 2 or more months ago, but with all my other post ideas, never got to writing up. But hey, with winter weather drying our hair out, now seems like the perfect time for a heatless style tutorial. Keep reading to find out how I did this look.

Heatless Curls

  1. You can start with fresh washed or second day hair. A lot of tutorials say hair styles work better with second day hair, but I personally found that this works best right after I shampoo it. No matter which you decide, make sure your hair is wet.
  2. Part your hair straight down the center.
  3. Now Dutch braid each side of your head. A Dutch braid is like a French braid, except that you cross the hair under instead of over.
  4. Let dry overnight.
  5. In the morning: remove hair from braid and gently tousle.
  6. You can also take this time to part your hair how you want it, too.

And voila, there you have it! Results will depend on the length of your hair. Short hair will look curlier, while longer hair will look like looser waves.

So what do you think? Would you try this look? Let me know in the comments below.

34 thoughts on “How To: Heatless Curls

  1. Hi V, I totally agree when it comes to posts you never get round too… I’ve a few piling up here too that are pleading to be published! Love the curls, though this literally is my hair every time I wash and leave it to dry naturally as it is quite curly. I must admit it’s really handy on days I’m running late or just cannot be bothered. You really suit the soft curls & super easy tutorial πŸ™‚ Karen x

    http://www.confettiandcurves.wordpress.com

  2. I was literally going to write a post about this! Hahah. It’s been my go-to look for a while now. My hair doesn’t hold curls from a curling iron/wand so plaiting it and leaving it over night is the only thing that works. And I can usually get away with sleeping on it and it’ll still look good the next day too! Love the volume and texture it gives your hair. ❀

  3. Yeeee, happy to read all the comments…indeed nice look!!! My hair are looking naturally that way….without braids…..and I am dream about straight soft hair…..women always need some changes….:)
    Great post!!!

  4. Back in high school my Mom used to braid my hair African-American style, you know, all those tiny countless braids… I used to wear it like that for days and I even washed it with the braids still staying and when I removed them, my hair would have that giant ‘fro that I loved! Sure, I’m curly but my curls are very messy and because my hair is very thick and heavy, they just pull themselves down and start looking more wavy than curly after 2 days. But the braids are a whole different story, and I still love the look they create, especially on you – so playful and cheery! (Sadly, Mom refuses to braid my hair anymore because I’m in my late 20s… *sigh*)

Comments Show You Care

