Cruelty-Free / Lips / Makeup / Reviews

Wet n Wild Pagan Angel Review

There’s a certain struggle for those of us who like black lipstick. Let’s face it, with jobs to go to and an assortment of night out makeup to try, it’s hardly going to become the wardrobe staple that we could justify spending $16+ on. On the other hand, finding a drugstore black lipstick that’s opaque and not completely crayon-like is no easy feat. Luckily, I think I’ve found the answer with Wet n Wild’s Pagan Angel.

Wnw pagan angel

Color: There’s no beating around the bush on this one. This is black. It has a slight sheen to it, and I like that it is mostly opaque on the first swipe.

Texture: The texture is a little thick, but otherwise pretty much what you think of when you think of a standard lipstick. It’s not drying, and might be a teensy bit moisturizing.

Application: Personally I think this fun to apply because it goes on so opaque. One swipe should give you even coverage. This doesn’t tend to cling to dry patches or sink into lines, which is a plus. For this and most dark colors, I recommend a lip liner, as going even the slightest bit out of your natural lip line will make your pucker look a little wonky.

Wear: Wear on this is not great. It’s not going to stand up to eating or drinking and in a few hours, it will be completely gone. And as you can tell from the picture, lipstick on the inner lip, which tends to be wetter, didn’t even hold up long enough for me to take the picture immediately after applying it.

Price: I got this for less than $2, but it’s listed on line for $3.50, so it probably depends on where you chose to buy/what sales are going on

Cruelty-Free: Yes

So what do you think? Have you ever worn black lipstick? Would you give it a shot? Let me know in the comments below.

34 thoughts on “Wet n Wild Pagan Angel Review

  1. I love Pagan Angel. I have only worn it to a Halloween party, but it wore extremely well. I wasn’t eating or drinking during the party, so I never had to touch it up (but I frequently checked in the mirror). I have a photo of it on a recent blog post. It really made me feel confident and sexy! It was my first black lipstick, and I wish I had the guts to wear it more days of the year. Maybe if I lived in a fashion capitol or something. 🙂

  2. Thanks for the follow on Twitter, dear! I like finding fellow bloggers.
    I find this post quite interesting to me now. When I was a teen, I used to wear as dark and weird lipsticks as possible. I used to annoy the teachers quite a lot. And then… I grew up and change my style completely 🙂

    Shall we follow each other on Bloglovin as well? I would love to.

    Lu | http://www.balgarka.co.uk

  3. V! HI! I’ve always wondered about wearing black lipstick or even darker shades like plum. I don’t know if it would work for me because I’m so pale, but I like how this shade has a green-ish tone to it.

  4. I’m always eyeing the black lipstick at Kiko but so far I haven’t bought it. I used to have a cheap one as a teen, but I threw it out; the quality was terrible 😄

  5. hmm? even me as a part time / some times Cross dresser would probably not wear this dark shade of a lipstick,,, Unless ? their was a party & if it was the theme & I’m not talking about a Halloween theme…because as U know I don’t do ANYTHING,, that has to do with THAT day,, it is… a very different color lipstick that’s for sure,, still *Lovin ur *Blog V, Happy holidays may U & your readers be *Blessed {Unto us a Savior was Born}* May the *LORD Bless us & Keep us 🙂

  6. That’s such a cool color! I’d love to find an occasion to wear it! Have you ever thought about just using black eyeliner as your lip liner when you are wearing this or other dark lipsticks?? It makes the hold just that much longer, and they are safe to be used on the lips, since you can use them near your eyes.

    With a red or maroon lipstick, it gives a really cool ombré effect in the center of your lips, so I definitely recommend you try it out whenever you get the chance!

  7. One tip, this looks AMAZING on medium dark (dark sable) skin tones.
    To fix the problem with wear, I used a random and cheap non-liquid eyeliner my mom had and it lasted longer and wore pretty ok for me. A good quality lip liner & primer should do nicely. I wore it for the day and only really reapplied twice. Any part I didn’t put the liner on suffered though.
    It didn’t stain and covered my two toned lips well.
    Overall, I like this. It’s probably the only thing with Fergie’s name on it I sincerely enjoy without shame…😂

Comments Show You Care

