Cruelty-Free / Lips / Makeup / Reviews

OCC Lip Tar in Narcissus Review + Swatches

You might know from a previous post that I am obsessed over lip tars. OCC lip tars are highly pigmented, long-lasting liquid lipsticks. So what did I think of the shade Narcissus? Keep reading to find out.

occ lip tar swatch narcissus

Color: OCC describes this color as a lavender toned pink, which I think is a nice way to put it. It has subtle blue undertones which makes the color lean towards a neutral cool rather than a true cool pink. It is a vivid medium shade and is very opaque.

Texture: These can be drying, especially the longer you wear them. After about 5 hours of wear, I had to reapply lip balm over top, because I couldn’t stand the dryness. However, unlike some other drying lipsticks, this dry feeling doesn’t carry over into the next day. I will also say, that unlike some drying lipsticks, this doesn’t appear patchy on my lips one bit.

Application: As I said in a previous post, application can be tricky, because lip tars are so dense you don’t realize how much that tiny speck of lip tar will actually cover. I recommend squeezing the tiniest bit onto your hand (literally less than a glob of lip gloss that you would apply) and then dip your lip brush into that before applying to lips.

Wear: This color was almost completely gone after 6 hours and completely gone by the seventh hour. I have to note that these hours including 2 meals and countless glasses of water on my end, so not bad

Price: $18.00

Cruelty-Free: Yes

Pro Tips for Using Lip Tars

  • apply as little as possible. i apply less than a squeeze to my hand and still have some left over. People who experience problems with feathering probably have applied too much
  • wash everything as soon as possible. If you put it on the back of your hand prior to application, make no mistake: it will stain. Also, that lip brush will get lip tar everywhere if you don’t wash it after every use
  • swatch in the store. Opaque lipsticks are great, but being opaque means that you have to be careful about getting a color that suits you. With a sheerer lipstick, your coloring will come through a little underneath and compensate for a color that isn’t quite right. With these, your natural coloring won’t come through and you run the risk of the most beautiful, subtle color looking neon.

OCC Narcissus Tube

So what do you think? Have you ever tried lip tars? Do you like this color? Let me know in the comments below.

46 thoughts on “OCC Lip Tar in Narcissus Review + Swatches

    • Thanks so much! It sucks that they’re drying, but I find that because the color doesn’t transfer off too easily, I can put a little lip balm over top.

  1. I like this color and it really fit your skin and eyes…. 🙂 I m haven’t entered yet the LIP TAR door yet, since i am pretty much still obsessed with creamy lip balms with high saturation : NARS are favorites atm. But keep me updated so i wil give em a try.

  2. I think the reds and pinks with a blue undertone are a better match for your skin tone, plus they make the teeth look whiter! I can honestly say this is my fave shade of pink, cute, girly, everything I like ❤ thanks for sharing doll xx

  3. That color suits you well! Sephora had a pretty decent sale on some holiday items and they had an OCC Lip Tar set online that I wantedBut, I was reading a bit of reviews and some people complained of the pigmentation. That made me not want to take the risk online, but the shade looks pigmented enough on your lips. Maybe I’ll wait for the next sale! Great post!

    • Thanks! I’ve only had two, but I’ve had pretty good luck with their pigmentation. Then again, I’ve only tried their matte shades so I can’t speak for their stained or metallic line.

  4. Pingback: Spring Lipsticks: Pink Edition | Say Hello to Gorgeous

  5. Pingback: Spring Favorites: Old is New | Say Hello to Gorgeous

Comments Show You Care

