Etc. / Skincare

YOU Tell Me: What are Your Winter Weather Dry Skin Hacks?

Good morning, ladies! You know I like to hear from you. First with these freezing cold temperatures in the Northeast, let’s say my skin is not amused. I come in from below freezing winds to my heater on at full blast and my poor skin just doesn’t know how to react. Luckily, I discovered a bottle of aloe vera gel in the fridge left over from the summer and it has done wonders to soothe my poor skin. What are your winter weather skin hacks?

71 thoughts on “YOU Tell Me: What are Your Winter Weather Dry Skin Hacks?

  1. I actually really, really, really love thte Carmex Healing Cream. It’s a great hand cream πŸ™‚ Doesn’t have a pretty frilly smell, but does wonders! It’s also good for foot treatments! Just drench ’em and toss on a pair of fuzzy socks and pass and and then you wake up with princess feet πŸ™‚

  2. Hey!! Happy Friday!! πŸ™‚ I use NYR organic! {https://us.nyrorganic.com/shop/corp/} It’s the best! The Frankincense Nourishing Cream is amaaazing!!! I use it in the morning and at night!! Fabulous!! XOXO

      • Wow, really?! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ That’s amazing! I’m truly honored! That means the world to me! Thank you so much! I love your blog and love you. I learn so much from your posts! Thank you for your kindness and support! You made my day!! Have a fabulous weekend! XOXO

  3. I know this weather is ridiculous! Definitely drinking a lot of fluids and just moisturizing every day. The best lip blam I have for my lips (that dry out so fast) is my eos mint lip balm. I’ve tried only one other one of their eos line but I ONLY like the mint. Its the best. Other than that, I have a body lotion from bath and body works with shea butter that I keep handy. And a big jar of shea butter too! Oh and one other thing I use since I was little is Eucerin original healing soothing repair creme. Its so rich and it really heals your skin from the weather, acne, and scars.
    P.S. Sorry for the long comment. 😁
    HomeschooledChic.wordpress.com

    • I like long comments! I really love the Eos lip balms. I got one as a stocking stuffer for Christmas and I apply it in the mornings and at night. During the day, I use Burt’s Bees because the packaging on that one is much easier to fit into my pocket.

  4. I’m in the freezing northeast as well, and this weather is rough! I like to put olive oil on my skin at night, it works wonders!

  5. Sugar scrub! So easy and cheap to make. It gets off the itchy dry stuff and the oil leaves your skin so soft and feels moisturized, not greasy. I mix two cups of sugar, half a cup of melted coconut oil, and whatever scent I want. That lasts for a while. There are so many variations though.

  6. My go-to dry skin hacks are cheap — Cerave am and pm moisturizers (in this weather my skin drinks up 4-5 pumps!), sometimes Cetaphil cream, and if I still get flaky I’ll do an overnight Aquaphor mask. None of these break me out, and all were recommended by my detmatologist. For lips, I use the Nivea lip things in the little tins and Burts Bees. I am obsessed with staying moist, haha.

    • I really like Cerave, but I got the heaviest one and that seems to irritate my skin. boo. I still use it as a body lotion though. The am version might be better for my skin.

  7. I don’t know if this happens to other people, but as soon as the winter wind hits my scalp, it gets very dry and flaky, almost like I have eczema… To rescue my poor scalp I use the Philip Kingsley Elasticizer… great for putting some hydration in my hair and super dry “winter scalp” (as I like to call it).

    • Yes! Same happens to me too. I use Head & Shoulders, but it doesn’t seem to be cutting it. Maybe I’ll try your pick when my shampoo runs out.

      • It’s not readily available in American stores, I order them online from the UK. It has a bit of a price tag, but even with my many layers of hair, it last me a few months, perfect for my winter scalp issue! Hope you love it as much as I do πŸ™‚

  8. I use Aveeno creams mostly. On SUPER dry patches (like elbows sometimes), I reluctantly use some petroleum jelly. It works like a charm, but I really don’t like the greasy feel. I’ve tried using it after a shower/bath and right before bed. That seemed to work well.

  9. Also on my face I’ve started using a system by Olay – the same idea as Clarisonic, and it’s making a huge difference! In terms of exfoliating. Then I just moisturize some more with Aveeno.

  10. I’ve recently found the Elizabeth Arden Visible Difference face cream; it’s been working wonders on my dry skin. I also find topping up moisturiser on days when you don’t have much makeup on helps keep it hydrated, and obviously lathering up in body butters and lip balm! x

  11. A very efficient deep and covering tip (filming your skin away from cold…with a natural protecting layer) is to use a mix of coconut oil with karite butter….heat it for a few seconds in the palm of your hand…allowing to melt….and rub wherever your body is feeling cracking…another lighter option is abyssinian vegetal oil, it has a light filming….serum like….effect on your skin… And it s all natural!I hope this tips will make you enjoy your winter…

  12. I love kiehl’s creme de corps for the body and I slather on the clarins face treatment oil on my skin and its never broken me out its super natural and great for healing dry skin in the winter months! They do one especially for combination skin, plus it smells d.i.v.i.n.e !!

  13. Definitely get a humidifier! It’s the best thing you can do for yourself in the winter. That and slathering vaseline everywhere. It sounds weird/scary, but putting vaseline over your moisturizer at night works wonders for your face!

Comments Show You Care

