Etc. / Lips / Makeup

The Lipstick Tag

Good morning! I’ve been tagged to do this half a million times, but somehow this always ended up on the back burner. I think there was something intimidating about knowing that even though I regularly get rid of old products, I somehow managed to buy over 20 lip products in the past year! *Note: I’ve been really into lip glosses, stains and other not really lipstick products this year and I thought this post would be very boring if I didn’t include them. Okay, enough blabbering. To the lipsticks!

Lipstick Tag

How many lipsticks do you own?
Including lip tars, lip glosses and stains, I own 30 something, which is really not as bad as I thought. Only 15 are traditional bullet lipsticks.

What was your first ever lipstick?
I’m not sure! I vaguely remember being 9 years old and being very girly. My mom bought me one of those cheap, less than $1 lipsticks that was at the front of the CVS counter to humor me. Obviously, I wasn’t wearing makeup out of the house at that young age, but it was fun to play dress up with it. I remember it was a bright, fire engine red.

What is your favorite brand for lipstick?
Again, I don’t know! This year, I’ve made more of a commitment to both save money and be cruelty-free. This means that my old favorite, YSL, is off the table and I’ve yet to find one I like as much.

What is your most worn lipstick?
This is a tie between Revlon’s Lip Butter in Pink Lemonade (not cruelty-free, but I wasn’t aware of that at the time I bought it) and OCC’s lip tar in Hush (okay, not a traditional lipstick). If we’re including other lip products, I was very big on Nyx Butter gloss in Merengue. A lot of people find this color to be a little milky on them, but being fair and cool toned, I findΒ it super flattering and not too light at all.

What is your favorite finish?
I love a satin or matte finish. Frosts don’t do it for me!

What was the last lip product that you bought?
Nyx butter gloss in Creme Brulee.

What lipsticks do you currently have in your handbag?
None! I’ve been using long last formulas the past two weeks so I don’t feel a need to bring any with me for touchups.Β 

How do you store your lipsticks?
I have a plastic container that I bought from Target to hold them. Nothing fancy!

What lipstick do you use to rock a red lip?
Oh boy, this is so bad, but another one I don’t know. It was a no name brand I had never heard of and now the label has worn off 😦

What lip products are you currently lusting after?
More OCC lip tars because they are fabulous. Other than that, finding a cruelty-free lipstick that measures up to my much loved YSL. Any recommendations?

If you would like to do this tag, just copy and paste the questions! Thanks for reading.

55 thoughts on “The Lipstick Tag

    • Haha, I don’t think mine’s that huge compared to some other people’s, but this definitely made me reevaluate how much I need to buy lol

      • Ooooooh it’s blooming HUGE compared to my woeful little handful of colours huni, lol I’m determined to start building on it, this is why my reading of blogs makes my hubby so nervous haha!!!! πŸ˜€ X

      • Haha, oh boy. My boyfriend just rolls his eyes anymore “Don’t you have like 50 light pink lipsticks already?” It’s not enough!

      • And I can imagine your reply huni… ‘but there’s sooo many different shades!!!’ lol I get that too with eyeshadows V – men are indeed baffled by us lol I usually get: ‘How many colours can you wear at once?’ – tired of telling my hubby it’s not about plastering it all on it’s about having the choice haaaa πŸ˜€ X

      • Haha, so true. And when you find that color that you like, but isn’t quite exactly the color you’re picturing in your head, then there are going to be a few more purchases haha

  1. Oh yes frosts are so yuck. 90s right?! But not in a good way! If you haven’t tried the Milani lipsticks yet you should. They have the matte/satin finish you like, they last several hours and require no liner. AND they’re $5 a Walmart. What’s not to love!?

    • I hate when I buy a drugstore lipstick and it turns out to be frosted. Eek. And I haven’t tried Milani, but I will on your recommendation πŸ™‚

  2. I’m totally going to do this tag! Love your pledge to shop cruelty-free.
    P.s. That Zoidberg lip balm is awesome… Where did you find it!?

    • Ah thanks! I got that from this great little Indie brand called Shiro cosmetics. It’s actually a lipstick but because it’s homemade, I guess it’s easier to stick it in a lip balm tube. I would definitely check them out πŸ™‚

    • I only have two so far. Just started getting into them in April-ish? But I have Hush and Narcissist and I love both of them πŸ™‚

      • this whole thing is very complicated, I know china requires it and the EU forbids it and also forbids selling it if it was tested elsewhere… I think they’re using a temporal loophole (having the ingredients tested before it was forbidden) but that won’t work much longer.

  3. Pingback: Get to Know Me Tag! | Say Hello to Gorgeous

  4. 30 lipsticks! I can see where being a beauty blogger would lead to having TONS of products. I have a big moment this week- I actually finished a tube of lip gloss without losing it or losing interest in it. I think products that you actually empty say more than products you love at first use. Loved this post!

    Xoxo K
    http://peeledwellness.com

    • Wow, I actually don’t think that I’ve ever used up a lipstick or lipgloss without losing it or it going bad…plus I keep so many colors in rotation, it’s hard to use one consistently.

  5. Pingback: The Eyeshadow Tag | Say Hello to Gorgeous

  6. Pingback: Lipstick collection and The Lipstick Tag | katiethiesen.wordpress.com

Comments Show You Care

