Makeup / Skincare

Winter Favorites

Another beautiful Monday arrives! Not long ago, I did a Fall Favorites post, and now that we’re a little deeper into the cold season, I thought I’d follow up with a Winter Favorites. So what do I like?

Winter Favorites

Wet n Wild Fergie Primer: If you had asked me 6 months ago, if I would ever consider using a drugstore primer, I might have laughed you off. Eye Primers like Too Faced Shadow Insurance are pretty much miraculous in my mind and I would have scoffed at the person who said that drugstore products could do just as good a job. But let me tell you something–this works! My shadow stays in place from the time I put it on at 7 am until I’m getting ready for bed and I don’t get the tiniest crease. Phenomenal! I highly recommend.

CeraVe Moisturizing Cream: You might have remembered from my previous post that this moisturizer just did not cut it for the sensitive skin on my face. Since then, I’ve started using it as a body lotion and I love it. It’s nice and heavy, but soaks up into skin well so you don’t end up feeling greasy, which I especially hate when I’m about to crawl into bed.

Jane Iredale Dream Tint: Funny how my summer favorites start to make a comeback in the winter. As a person who doesn’t want a full coverage foundation, tinted moisturizer is pretty great. It provides an extra layer over my normal moisturizer to keep my skin from getting too dry.

Midnight’s Children: I had to include a non-beauty favorite in here. This book by Rushdie is a beautiful work of magical realism. Magical realism, you ask, what’s that? Well it includes sort of the magic we can find in real life (such as fortune tellers and prophecies) without going full out fantasy. It’s also an incredible portrait of Indian history and culture. I’m only about a quarter of the way through the book, so no spoilers, but I absolutely love it so far.

Naked 2 Basic Palette: Yes, I reviewed this before, but I’m liking it even more now in winter. Some people have complained that the colors in this palette are too similar to each other, but lately I’ve been loving blending these similar shades to create a soft eye look. Plus, I’m loving the matte finish in winter. It adds something to the eye, but still looks natural.

Absolute Waterproof Gel Eyeliner: I’ll be honest, I’m not sure if this is cruelty-free as it came with my Sunset 45 subscription box. I have been loving this lately. I don’t know if anyone else experiences this, but if I put more than a little eyeliner on my waterline, it looks way too harsh. But if I put on a smaller amount that looks good, my eyeliner is gone within the hour. This solved my problems. I’m able to put one thin, light line on my waterline and it lasts several hours. Perfect.

So what are your winter favorites? What should I pick up next season? Let me know in the comments below!

25 thoughts on “Winter Favorites

  1. I love the Naked 2 Basics Palette as well, so nice for creating a more natural subtle look. I will have to try out that Wet n’ Wild primer. 🙂

  2. Pingback: High End vs Drugstore Primer | Say Hello to Gorgeous

  3. Pingback: Spring Favorites: Old is New | Say Hello to Gorgeous

  4. Pingback: Summer to Fall Favorites | Say Hello to Gorgeous

Comments Show You Care

