Eyes / Face / Makeup

Say Hello to Gorgeous Guide to Brushes

Happy Hump Day! So as I was sitting down to write about this makeup look I tried out, my camera battery decided to die mid upload. So I guess that post will have to wait for another day. In the mean time, let me entertain you with this post I’d been meaning to write forever about different makeup brushes and their uses. Hope you enjoy.

Brushes

Face Brushes

Classic Foundation Brush: Your classic foundation brush is the easiest to spot. It’s the one that looks like a fat version of a paintbrush. This is great for smoothing on liquid foundation

Kabuki Brush: Kabuki brushes are small and compact, made of up of soft, fluffy bristles. They are great for applying powders

Fan Brush: This is one, I don’t normally use myself. It’s shaped like a fan and is best used for applying your highlight.

General rule about face brushes: Of course there a million variations on these types of brushes and they all seem to have overlapped uses. The general rule that helps me is this: the denser the brush, the stronger the application. The fluffier the brush, the softer the application. So if you’re applying powder foundation and want fuller coverage, choose a dense brush. If you’re just sweeping on your finishing powder or a light dusting of blush, a big, fluffy brush will do the trick.

Eye Brushes

Flat Eyeshadow Brush: In my opinion, the flat eyeshadow brush doesn’t get enough credit. This one looks like it sounds and if you reference my picture above, is the third for the left. With denser bristles, this won’t go your go to brush for blending, but it is great for really packing color on. I like this for applying light colors to my lid, since light colors don’t always have the best pigmentation and you might need a little extra

Fluffy Brush: Your fluffy eyeshadow brush is going to be great for blending colors and for soft application. Remember, the fluffier the brush, the softer the application

Angled Eyeliner Brush: This is a small, dense, flat, angled brush. It is traditionally used for applying gel or in some cases liquid eyeliner, but I like to use it to apply eyeshadow as a liner for a softer look or to fill in my brows. When I’m packing limited beauty supplies, I always pack this brush.

Pencil Brush: This brush is rounded and tapers to a point. It is used for precision shading in the lid (although I find that I like to go over it with a fluffy brush here, because this brush is not great for blending on its own). It’s also good for putting eyeshadow on the lash line, which is where I think it really shines.

Well that’s my basic guide to makeup brushes. I hope this was helpful. And I hope you all have a magnificent day!

16 thoughts on “Say Hello to Gorgeous Guide to Brushes

  1. This was such a great post and very informative. Sometimes I get a little confused about brushes myself lol. Thanks for sharing! 🙂 xo

  2. Always love, love, loooove your posts. It is so fun to read. I just wanted to let you know that I have nominated you for a Creative Blogger Award. Rules and post are on my page, I’ll link it. If you have already been nominated, please feel free to do another one. 🙂 Love your blog. ❤

    dramabeautypop.wordpress.com/2015/02/24/the-creative-blogger-award

Comments Show You Care

