Fashion

What Should I Wear to my Wedding?

TGIF! By now, I’m sure all of you (or most of you) know that I’m engaged. To be frank, we have a major move coming up shortly, so we probably won’t really get into wedding planning until that’s over and we have more time to visit venues, plan out our budget, etc. But that hasn’t stopped me from looking at wedding dresses to my little heart’s content. You can check out my whole wedding board on Pinterest. In the meantime, here are some of my favorites.

anna_campbell_gossamer_collection_1 Anna Campbell Gossamer Collection

Pictured above are two dresses from the Gossamer Collection by Anna Campbell. I fell in love with this collection as soon as I saw it, and it breaks my heart to say that I will probably never own one! These are from Anna Campbell’s made to measure line, which means it’s a customized dress that you can find in her boutiques–in Australia. Add to that, these dresses are out of my price range anyway. Good bye dreams.

SOTTERO and MIDGLEY www.sotteroandmidgley.com SOTTERO and MIDGLEY www.sotteroandmidgley.com 5MN084 Maggie Sottero

Having relinquished my dreams, I sought out a more affordable designer. After some digging, I found that Maggie Sottero gowns sell for around $2000 (and many sell for less than that). Above are my favorites that have that beautiful, detailed cap sleeve design. I actually have a few hundred more of these I’m drooling over, but I’ll save you scrolling.

SOTTERO and MIDGLEY www.sotteroandmidgley.com Maggie Sottero long sleeves

As I kept perusing wedding dresses, something totally unexpected happened. I started to fall for long-sleeved dresses. Okay, so maybe that doesn’t sound weird to you. Up until I think the 90s or so, long sleeves were really the norm. But I always found them a little too old fashioned and conservative. I didn’t even really like Kate Middleton’s dress (blasphemy-I know). Yet, I really like the two dresses above. I think the open neckline keeps it from being too conservative and the slimmer silhouette means I’m not going to get overwhelmed by fabric. These two are my favorites right now. I can see myself pairing them with a mantilla lace veil for extra chicness. Butttttt…as of now, it looks like our wedding will be in the late summer or fall so sleeves might be a little umm, warm.

SOTTERO and MIDGLEY www.sotteroandmidgley.com

Last surprise of wedding dress browsing? I love this ball gown. I am not a ball gown girl, but this dress is simply gorgeous.

So what do you think? What’s your favorite dress? If you’re married, what dress did you wear to your wedding?

89 thoughts on “What Should I Wear to my Wedding?

  1. Actually I like the last 2 , both full sleeve dresses. They add that elegance to the outfit and the figure hugging silhouette leave quite a lot to the imagination or not πŸ˜‰

  2. What does it say about me being a dude that my thoughts were:

    1) Go with the first dress. (Now can we go to lunch?)

    2) That Maggie Sottero model is kinda dreamy.

    3) Honestly, as a dude, we’re going to think our bride is dreamy, regardless of the dress. And we’re so lucky. We just have to get the tux and plan the honeymoon. It’s still like that, right?

  3. Maggie’s always been a fave of mine! The best advice I can give is don’t get your heart set on a particular style/silhouette until you go and try on dresses. I’ve always been in love with the princess gown style, but fell in love with something completely different when I was choosing mine.

    • Thanks for the advice! A similar thing happened to me years ago, thanks to my mom. I had my heart set on a plain, strapless prom dress, preferably in pink or purple. Then my mom got to the sales lady and next thing I know, my dressing room is being flooded with bedazzled green halter dresses. Guess what I ended up with. Yup, mom’s choice

    • That one is getting a lot of love. Even if I have a summer wedding, I think I’m going to at least try that one on for sure

  4. I’m love the first one! And the second to last. All the other dresses are really exquisite but lack that certain piece of ‘WOW’, or so to speak, I just don’t feel them on you. IMO, those two I mentioned would be a real knock-off for your wedding dress.

  5. I’m engaged, too! I am planning on a Dec/Jan New Years Eve Wedding. I am really loving this lime green ball gown that I might have customized to a pale lavender for my wedding dress. There are so many options! I am planning on only having a reception and forgo the Church wedding. I was supposed to have it this year, but since the baby scare of 2014, we are thinking of moving the wedding date back a year or so in order to buy a house in case there is a mini me not far into the future. My comment is getting long now…I’ll stop. Congrats! Is your wedding to be this year?

  6. beautiful dresses, you do seem to be leaning towards a style, sometimes the funny thing about wedding dresses is you think you like and want something and end up getting something completely different, that happened to me many moons ago, I still like watching say yes to the dress.

  7. Firstly; congratulations!
    Secondly, I love that first dress! That’s the sort of thing I’d love to get married in. Absolutely gorgeous. I’m not even engaged and I’ve got my dress picked out! (; Haha. I just love weddings! I also love gowns by Hayley Paige. X

  8. Congratulations πŸ˜€

    I love all the outfits.I would say, no matter what you pick , make sure it suits your body shape.Nothing is more flattering than a dress that compliments your body shape.I love the ball gown the most for you πŸ™‚

  9. Hi there.
    Congratulations on your engagement. That’s amazing news.
    I think all the dresses are beautiful but the two that stand out for me are number 3 and 6. I love the hourglass figure it shows and the designs on the dresses. My favorite part of the dresses though is the shoulder straps.
    πŸ™‚

  10. Not sure that anyone mentioned number 5, but that’s my pick. Something about it just makes me think that it screams “YOU!” Could be the Art Deco inspired style – classic, yet not ‘what everyone is wearing’ right now. It also appears to be made of a lighter weight fabric, too. I just love styles with less ‘stiffness’… gowns that flow when you move.

    You’ll look amazing no matter what, of course, ’cause you’re lovely.

    Are you planning on physically trying gowns on somewhere?
    I found that trying on gowns was an awful lot like spending a day at the gym. hahaha! Felt like a lot of work! I didn’t realize how heavy fabric, beads and rhinestones could be!

    • haha, yes, I’ll definitely be trying some on in person before buying anything. I’ve heard other women say they’ve tried on heavy gowns. Maybe that’s something I should think about too

  11. My sister is also engaged and was close to buying that first Anna Campbell dress, but last minute was cut from the list when we were introduced to Pronovias (made in Barcelona). You might want to look into that!

  12. I can totally see you in a mermaid style dress, but ballgowns are my fave ❀❀❀ you will look like a princess πŸ‘°πŸ’πŸ’’πŸ’πŸ’πŸ’

  13. Congrats! These memories will be so memorable for you and your soon-to-be hubby! I wore a ball gown on my wedding and truly felt like a princess. I posted some pictures on my instagram account at haz_style. From your picks I love the dresses with long sleeves. My wedding dress also had full lace sleeves. Looks extremely elegant!

    http://www.hazstyle.co

  14. omg! at first congratulations on your engagement!! I fell in love with the first dress! It is so classy and chic! You should wear anything that makes you feel like a princess, like you! It may be stressful searching for the perfect wedding dress, especially when there are so many choices, but I think that once you try the perfect dress on, you will immediately feel that it is the one! xoxo

  15. Pingback: No, I Will Not Advertise Your Product for Free: Beauty Blogger Rant | Say Hello to Gorgeous

  16. Pingback: Where Have I Been? Jobs and All That Wedding Stuff | Say Hello to Gorgeous

Comments Show You Care

