Etc. / Face / Makeup

Need YOUR Help: Foundation Recommendation

Happy Hump Day! As some of you may (or may not) know, I’m getting married next year. Usually, I’m a tinted moisturizer girl, but I want to find a medium to full coverage foundation to look flawless for the day. I’ve been trying out Sephora samples, but I need your help. What should I try next? I’d prefer if the recommendations were cruelty-free. (This level of pickiness is why it’s so hard for me to find something, haha). Here’s what I tried so far.

  • NARS Luminous Weightless Foundation: Loved how this went on at first, but throughout the day, this made my dry spots very prominent and I experienced significant creasing around my mouth
  • Clinique Even Better Makeup SPF 15:Β I actually really liked this one and didn’t have too many complaints about how it actually wore. BUT, I developed cystic acne after wearing this. Ironic because the Sephora sales person recommended it for acne prone skin. Also, it’s not cruelty-free.

So that’s what I’ve tried so far. Any more recommendations? What foundation do you love? Let me know in the comments below!

85 thoughts on “Need YOUR Help: Foundation Recommendation

  1. Tarte has a good long wearing foundation called Amazonian Clay 12 hour full coverage foundation (wow-that’s a long name πŸ˜€) that you should check it out. It is oil free & has a non chemical sunscreen too! Good luck!!

  2. It’s not cruelty-free, but have you tried EL Double Wear, or Revlon ColorStay?

    I’ve also read that MAC has a foundation that’s great for photography.

  3. No matter what you’ll want a foundation with no SPF in it otherwise you could get back flash in photos. I don’t know if it’s cruelty free but check out the Make Up For Ever HD foundation. I got a first impressions coming up on my blog next week. Also try the Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk foundation.

  4. What time of year are you getting married and is your skin more oily or more dry during that period?? I think the Tarte Amazonian Clay Foundation is really good if your skin is a bit oily. If you are mostly normal, the Urban Decay Naked foundation is a nice medium coverage. And this may sound crazy, but I personally really love the Wet n Wild foundations. They have wonderful coverage and last all day. P.S. there are all CF πŸ™‚

    • Thank you Kaily! We were thinking of getting married in the fall–my fiance has allergies so spring is out. We might end up getting married in late summer though. Philadelphia is extremely hot in the summer so many places (even indoor venues) have a discount for booking in August.

  5. I would try the Tarte Amazonian clay for sure as it is one of the more ethical brands at Sephora. You might also try Make Up Forever HD Invisible Cover and Kat Von D Lock It Foundation – these are both super popular with brides because of the coverage and they photograph beautifully. Lastly try Hourglass Veil Fluid which is oil free but is silky smooth on the face.

    • Thank you! I’ve heard so many good things about Tarte, I’m going to have to at least try it next time I’m in the store

  6. For your wedding purposes, it’s not enough to wear just a good foundation (i.e., full coverage that will stay on long time)…but one that will give off wonderful pictures! I would use Make Up For Ever HD Foundation on my clients, or a foundation with silicone (makeup artists get these from wholesale special places for professional tv and theatre makeup)…Both of these foundations look flawless in pictures and last a really long time!
    Trick is also not to use anything with an SPF in it – as SPF produces flashback in pictures!
    Foundations with silicone are used in moves and TV – as they give this amazing coverage and perfect flawless complexion – they also do not melt under heat (read hot lights)…
    Hope this helped :).
    Good luck!
    xo

    • Thank you so much! I had heard that about SPF before, but I never knew about the importance of silicone. I’ll be sure to keep it in mind while I’m foundation shopping

  7. I really recommend Cover Fx foundations, specifically the oil free one. It is full coverage and looks great when being photographed. As wells hourglass immaculate liquid powder foundation ! And they are both cruelty free !!

  8. In my opinion, I would say Tarte, Revlon, Estee Lauder or Clinique really nailed their foundations so you can narrow down the list of what brand to choose. Because it also depends on your personal favorite (scent, texture) and skin type, I don’t really have any particular products to introduce to you. And sorry because I dont know if these brands have cruelty free products or not :-s hope this helps ^^

    • Absolutely helps. I’ve heard some nice things about Tarte so that’s what I’ll check out next. I know Clinique is supposed to be good for your skin, but when I used them I got these terrible cysts

  9. Oh my gosh, congratulations! (I’ve been away, obviously, haha.)

    May I suggest looking into Laura Mercier Silk CrΓ¨me Foundation? It’s full coverage (but can be toned down for everyday shenanigans) and manages to look luminous without being overly dewy. I actually bought mine for flash photographyβ€”this photographs beautifully, it just looks so seamless. And there’s no SPF, so there’s no flashback to speak of. It’s long-wearing on me, and I’ve got oily skin and live in the tropics, so that’s an achievement.

  10. Try Motives. They have a custom blend foundation so you know the shade is YOUR perfect match and you can add in a silicone based primer, oil control or moisturizer depending on your skin type etc… I have really oily skin and use it in the Hawaii humidity; it stays better than anything else I’ve found! The one catch, or benefit if you prefer 1:1, is it’s a direct sales co so you do need to find a consultant. If you’re in Honolulu before July 1 I can hook you up! ;). Otherwise, if you go to motivescosmetics.com you can find someone near you. You can email me at lpgmakeup@outlook .com if you want some help with finding someone :).

  11. Here’s a curelty free drugstore rec: Hard Candy’s Just Face It. I normally only use BB cream or tinted moisturizer, but when I want a completely flawless, lightweight look, I go with this one. And grats on getting married!

  12. I don’t know if it’s cruelty free but when I got married my MUA used MAC face and body. It’s quite sheer but you can really build up on the coverage. It is more suited for dry skin and looked nice and dewy in the photos.

  13. I recommend the Make Up For Ever HD Foundation. It’s not too matte, it has no SPF and it lasts a long time (on me anyway). It looks really good in photos.

  14. Hi! The foundation I use – not sure it’s cruelty free though, is Stila stay all day foundation and concealer. Yes, it also comes with a matching concealer! It literally stays on all day and gives you a flawless look – covers everything. It doesn’t dry my skin either. Absolutely love it. Good luck on your search and congratulations!!! Xo πŸ™‚

  15. bh cosmetics has a really good foundation and it has a color that actually matches my skin tone. I think it goes on smoothly as well and it’s not as expensive as the other suggestions(in case that was a factor)

  16. your acne and the foundation may have been a coincindence, because cysts are hormonal. it’s more likely to be caused by stress than by makeup. (Unless the makeup contains a lot of irritants, like perfume and alcohol, which is unlikely for Clinique)
    my tip: three weeks before the wedding, do not change skin care routine, so the skin isn’t aggravated.
    foundationwise, if it were my wedding, I’d use MAC Mineralize Compact combined with Chanel Les Beiges. Generally, a good finishing powder does subtle wonders.
    For foundation I recommend MAC, but you’ll have to try around to find the right finish for you.

    • I don’t think it was hormonal. Since I got on a skincare routine 10 years ago, I never get cysts unless I try a new product that irritates my skin. But I will take your advice and not change my skincare routine before the wedding πŸ™‚

  17. Estee Lauder Double Wear applied with a beauty blender. It will not budge and will stay flawless all day. They also do a ‘light’ version which is good for people who want less coverage. Highly highly recommended. πŸ™‚

    • I actually really love Jane Iredale’s tinted moisturizers. Don’t know why I didn’t think of that for foundation!

  18. It’s definitely not cruelty free but it’s perfect for what you’re wanting it for! That’s EstΓ©e Lauders Double Wear foundation, I have been using it for a few months now and I think it’s great! It does tend to cling to dry patches so you need to moisturise before hand but without a primer it lives up to the claims and does not budge at all. The only thing you might need to consider is if there’s a flash back in your photos so you might have to test that out πŸ™‚
    The other one i suggest is a little bit pricier and I’m not sure if it’s cruelty free, Hourglass Immaculate Liquid Powder Foundation, it controls oils and is actually good for your skin! I have a very oily t-zone and it keeps me matte all day! (Longest I’ve tried it out was about 10 hours)
    Good luck!

Comments Show You Care

