Reviews / Skincare

Showdown: Clarisonic Mia 2 vs Pulsaderm Buddy

Happy Hump Day, readers. Once upon a time, way back when I reviewed the Clarisonic, I promised a review another face brush, Pulsaderm. It’s been quite a while since then, but I really wanted to give you a good review of the Pulsaderm Buddy and we all know that you can’t judge the effectiveness of any skincare product overnight. So without further ado, here is my review.

clarisonic mia 2 pulsaderm buddy

Left: Pulsaderm Buddy, Right: Clarisonic Mia 2

Exfoliation: One of the things I was really impressed with when using the Clarisonic was how flake free my skin stayed. My skin is super, super flaky in the winter, but the Mia 2 exfoliated really well. In contrast, the Pulsaderm, I’m sorry to say, did not exfoliate as well. It’s decent for every day exfoliation, but not as impressive.
Winner: Clarisonic

Gentleness: On the other hand, one of my biggest complaints about the Clarisonic was that it was not gentle by any means. I barely applied any pressure with the brush to my face and I think this still aggravated my skin around that time of the month. In contrast, Pulsaderm is much gentler. Even using their normal (vs sensitive brush), you can feel just how much softer it is. It’s so gentle on the skin. I didn’t have to worry about using a light hand for fear of my skin looking red and irritated.
Winner: Pulsaderm

Travel: Both of these are good travel buddies. I mentioned in my travel packing secrets post, that I love to bring the Pulsaderm Buddy because of its small size. But the Clarisonic Mia 2 comes with its own sturdy plastic traveling case. So they’re both good for traveling.
Winner: Tie!

Price: So of course, we cannot talk about these products without talking about the price. The Clarisonic Mia 2 costs $149.00 at Sephora. In contrast, the Pulsaderm Buddy is a more affordable $69.00 on their website.
Winner: Pulsaderm by a mile

Bottom Line: I’m comparing these because they are both face brushes, but honestly, each is good for a different skin type. The Clarisonic Mia 2 is better for those with rough, dry skin, the kind of skin that flakes no matter how heavy of a moisturizer you put on it. The Pulsaderm Buddy is better for sensitive, acne prone skin. To maximize the benefits of both of these, I use the Pulsaderm Buddy on a daily basis and the Clarisonic Mia 2 about once a week to exfoliate. I know that sounds extravagant, but my boyfriend gave me the Mia 2 for Christmas and the Pulsaderm was sent for my consideration, so it isn’t like I paid a fortune to have both brushes. If you are thinking of getting one of these, I would consider which one fits your skin needs more.

Have you tried either of these brushes? Is there another brush you like better? Let me know in the comments below.

16 thoughts on “Showdown: Clarisonic Mia 2 vs Pulsaderm Buddy

  1. Wow, the Pulsaderm seems like a great option (I have sensitive acne prone skin) and so much more affordable! Thanks for sharing!

  2. I am so glad you posted about this! I have a clarisonic now but I’ve been looking into getting a Pulsaderm! I’ve heard their brush heads are a LOT cheaper than a clarisonic

    • I bet they are. I haven’t looked into it myself, because switching between the Clarisonic and Pulsaderm has saved me from having to buy any brush heads thus far.

  3. Thanks for the review! My dermatologist recommended the Clarasonic to me when I went to see her. She said not to try other similar cheaper products because the mechanism is different. The others push the dirt and grime into the pores unlike Clarasonic that lifts them up..I don’t know how true that statement is and haven’t really looked it up either lol

  4. I have the clarisonic pro. And after reading about it and doung my research is obvious that you get what you pay for. Just take a good look at the back of the cleaning heads. Clarisonic’s heads are by far superior.

Comments Show You Care

