Cruelty-Free / Eyes / Face / Lips / Makeup

Top 5 Cruelty-Free Budget Beauty Picks

Hooray for the weekend, am I right? Actually, I’m a little blue this weekend. I’ve mentioned in conversation with several of you that I’m moving to a new state at the end of this month. I’m obligated to stay here until then. But the fiance has obligations of his own that require him to move out a little earlier. Like tomorrow. So I’ll be a little lonely without him the next two weeks. But enough about me. I wanted to talk a little about the great cruelty-free products you can find for cheap. So let’s get started!

Budget Favorites

  1. Elf Eyeshadow Palettes: To be honest, elf eyeshadows are kinda hit or miss. Some colors are gorgeous, some are chalky or barely show up. But here’s the deal. This little palette has 48 colors and costs only $8.00. If you got 40 complete duds and only 8 decent shades, you would more than get your money’s worth. But from this palette, only about 5 are duds, 5 are great and the rest are pretty average for drugstore makeup. Great deal, right? You can see this palette in action in my Blue Orchid Makeup Look. Just as a side note though, I have no idea how elf decides what color combos go in each package, but the one online looks nothing like the colors you find in store and this is not the first time that’s happened.
  2. Nyx Butter Gloss: I know what you’re thinking. You’ve reviewed the butter glosses twice already here and here. You’ve featured them in so many other posts, it wouldn’t even make sense to link all those here. But people, these are that fabulous. I will rave about these to anyone that will listen until I have no friends left. I usually don’t bother with gloss because I hate the sticky feeling but I LOVE these. I have Clinique and Givenchy lip glosses and I can honestly say that the Nyx Butter Glosses are better. They are so creamy and most colors have great opacity for a gloss. Must try!
  3. Wet n Wild Fergie Primer: This was literally the first drugstore eye primer that I ever tried. I don’t know why, but for a long time I labored under the delusion that nothing but high end primers would work. I guess I was so blown away by the magic of eyeshadow primer that I thought I’d never harness that magic for cheap. But this stuff works.
  4. Ecotools Blush Brush: I got this for Christmas probably 5 or 6 years ago. In all that time, this blush brush is still in great condition. It’s so soft and I love how it blends everything so well together. I’ve had my fair share of drugstore brushes that are scratchy and just don’t blend. This one is the exception to the rule.
  5. 2nd Love Cosmetics Rose Mascara: Last on my list is this mascara, which you can buy from 2nd Love Cosmetics’ website for only $4.99. When I first reviewed it, I thought it was about average for a mascara. It’s grown on me since then. It doesn’t necessarily make your lashes look thicker in one coat, but it’s great for lengthening and curling. If you add a second coat, your lashes will be long, thick and curled. I have a Benefit mascara sample tucked away in a drawer. It’s going to have to wait until this one runs out to get its chance.

So there you have it, my top 5 budget (and cruelty-free) beauty picks. What products do you like to get for cheap? Let me know in the comments below!

24 thoughts on “Top 5 Cruelty-Free Budget Beauty Picks

  1. love this post! cruelty free products are the best! you should check out Danielle Mansuttis channel on youtube she has a whole makeup look dedicated to cruelty free products with a mix of different brands 😀 love your post!!

  2. I love the wet n wild fergie products! But I also had the same thoughts that only high end eye primers would work, but if you say it’s great then I must give this a try 🙂

  3. This is just the post I need V! I love trying out new drugstore brands and knowing they are highly recommended by you means they’lll be a good buy :). I use Ecotools and I agree their brushes work far more than what we pay for. Have a lovely day girl! 🙂 xo~ Lena
    http://www.felinecreatures.com

  4. Sorry you’re feeling down – I remember when a very similar situation happened to Steve & I.. not going to lie the first few days are the hardest but the time will fly in, promise 🙂 Great product picks – I’ve always wanted to try ecotools brushes, seen some great reviews about them V Xo

    • Aww, thank you Karen. I know it’s just a couple weeks, and I shouldn’t feel sad about it, but it’s different when you live with someone, you know? Have a great weekend, lovely.

      • I completely understand – it’s a tough time, and can be really emotional… especially when you’re used with each other day in day out. Feels like a part of you has gone too!! You’ll be grand though, honestly it will fly by 🙂 *hugs* XXXX

  5. I really enjoyed reading this post! I want to try the Wet n’ Wild Fergie Primer out sometime.It sounds lovely! 🙂 xo

Comments Show You Care

