Hair / Tutorials

2nd (or 3rd) Day Hairstyles

Because I love you so much, I read all your comments, especially on posts like this one, in which I found out that a lot of us just don’t wash our hair every day. As a woman who also doesn’t wash her hair every day, I have to say that it is a trial and error process. Sometimes I think I can stretch it an extra day and when I wake up the next morning, I realize I can’t. But since I didn’t plan for a shower in the morning after having showered at night, I then don’t have the time to wash, dry, and style my hair. So here are some of my go to styles for those types of days.

Picture 11

The Ballerina Bun: My first go to style is the classic ballerina bun. I find this much chicer than your standard pony tail. There are many methods of doing this, but I am lazy, so what I do is gather my hair in a ponytail and twist and wrap it around itself. Then I secure it with a hair tie, and pull a little bit of the bun over the hair tie so that you can’t see it. Voila!

Ballerina Bun

The Headband: Blair Waldorf made these look so sophisticated in 2007. I realize that Gossip Girl has been off the air for at least 3 years now, but Blair is timeless. My hair generally doesn’t want to stay slicked back, regardless of the products I use in it, so when I do this look, I take a small portion of hair from the front of my head, slick it straight back and secure with a few bobby pins at the crown of my head. Then all I need to do is put the headband in.

Headband

The Front Braid: I like this one for the weekends. It looks like you put a lot of effort into it, but if you’ve mastered the French braid, you can do this look. Because I have a few more steps here, I’m going to do a by numbers step by step

  1. Part your hair to the side
  2. Section off the front portion of your and pull the rest back out of the way. This will make the braiding process so much easier.
  3. Of the section of your hair not in the ponytail, pull out three small pieces nearest to your part. You are going to braid them like a French braid, but instead of pulling the pieces over each other, you’re going to pull them under each other. This is called a Dutch braid.
  4. When you continue with your Dutch braid, you have two options: you can either continue to grab new pieces of hair from the left and the right as you make your braid OR (and this is what I did), only grab new pieces of hair when you are pulling the front pieces into the braid. That sounds confusing, but I’m not sure how to describe it better.
  5. You can follow your hairline with the braid for as long as you like.  Some people will do it all the way down to their ears. Personally, I have some baby hairs by my temples, which I don’t want to braid, so I’ll stop the braid there.
  6. Then you can pin your braid where it is, leaving the ends loose, like I did, or you can do a regular braid all the way to the ends and then pin in place. All a style preference.

Braid

So there you have it. My looks for days that I really should have washed my hair. Hope you enjoyed! XOXO

39 thoughts on “2nd (or 3rd) Day Hairstyles

  1. These are wonderful, and if my hair was longer I’d do them all the time! I love your hair color as well!
    Jessica xx

  2. I like how….all the styles look on you & yes I also like how your eyes look too* & lucky me lol now that I hav a….wig,,, doing this I don’t have to because of how the type/style its not needed & the hair isn’t long enough…..enjoying all* your post V, Kelly

    • Haha, thanks! I had this eyeshadow hanging around and this new blue liner trend seemed like a good excuse to use it

  3. Every single time I try to do a front braid I always mess it up, and it’s probably because I don’t pull all the other hair back. Thanks for the tip V!

Comments Show You Care

