Eyes / Makeup

Makeup Challenge Day 7: Smoked Liner

Welcome back to Day 7 of the challenge, in which I show you my smoked liner look. If you’ve been following, you got a preview of this look on Monday. A slightly grainy, bad lighting, cell phone picture preview, but a preview nonetheless. This look was the most aggravating and the most rewarding. If you try to smoke out your liner by adding dark eyeshadow, be prepared for the eyeshadow to go everywhere and to have a lot of mess to clean up off of your cheeks. But I also got a lot of compliments on this look so maybe it was worth it? Challenge Smoked Liner My future in-laws invited us over for a barbecue, so I wanted to keep the look casual, but still flirty. I started out with my trusty Naked 2 Basics (Naked Basics 2? Help a girl out, Urban Decay) and created my go to eye look, which is Skimp all over the lid and a combination of Primal and Frisk on the crease. Next, because I wanted to emphasize my top lash line a little more than my bottom, I put a thick line of black pencil liner on my lid, and a bit of brown liner on the outer corner of my lower lash line. Then I used Undone from the Basics palette to smudge, smudge, smudge out those two lines. Challenge Smoked Liner Closed Ahem. This didn’t turn out quite like I wanted. I had a serious case of panda eyes. I used a bit of Primal to blend out the lower lash line. Then I thought there was too much emphasis on the lower as opposed to upper lash line, so I went back in and applied a super thin line of liquid eyeliner to the top lash line. To bring a little lightness back into the look, I took a shimmery white eyeshadow and applied it to my inner eye corner and to my brow bone. Finally, I was satisfied with my eyes, so I finished with a small touch of bronzer and my go to lip gloss, Nyx Butter Gloss in Creme Brulee.

Challenge Smoked liner

At my parents house, aka why there are people and kitties in the background

Have you ever had a makeup look that didn’t start out the way you planned? Now that it’s BBQ season, what are your go to melt-proof looks? Let me know in the comments below.

Now that I’ve finished the challenge, have a look at my other looks!

Picture 12

  1. Red Lips
  2. Gilded Lids
  3. Glowing Skin
  4. One Eyeshadow
  5. Retro Liner
  6. Vampy Lips
  7. Smoked Liner
  8. Touch of Purple
  9. Shimmer and Sparkle
  10. Sweet Cheeks
39 thoughts on “Makeup Challenge Day 7: Smoked Liner

  1. This is the 2nd time in the past 24 hrs I’ve seen beautiful smoky liner looks! I definitely want to try this – it’s more subtle than a straight up smoky eye. I think Panda eyes is part of this look though, it’s kind of inevitable. Looks fabulous on you! 🙂

  2. This look is so flattering on you! I’ve been following the makeup challenge, and you’re doing a great job. You make me want to try all these out but who am I kidding- LAZY lol!

  3. Always… I get the panda eyes when trying to do this look, too. This turned out beautifully, though! ❤ You look so gorgeous, I'm tempted to do this challenge myself.

  4. I know exactly what you mean when you say eyeshadow can go everywhere. I was attempting a smoky eye using my friends (cheap) palette one time and I ended up just washing my face and doing something different because it went everywhere! It was terrible! I love what you did here, though. You look great!

    • Haha, thanks! I used an expensive product and it still got everywhere because I didn’t have the patience to add the eyeshadow on but by bit

  5. Pingback: Makeup Challenge Day 9: Shimmer and Sparkle | Say Hello to Gorgeous

  6. Pingback: Makeup Challenge Day 10: Sweet Cheeks | Say Hello to Gorgeous

  7. Pingback: Makeup Challenge Day 8: Touch of Purple | Say Hello to Gorgeous

  8. Pingback: Makeup Challenge Day 6: Vampy Lips | Say Hello to Gorgeous

  9. Pingback: Day 5: Retro Liner and My Vintage Spirit | Say Hello to Gorgeous

  10. Pingback: Makeup Challenge Day 4: One Eyeshadow | Say Hello to Gorgeous

  11. Pingback: Makeup Challenge Day 3: Glowing Skin | Say Hello to Gorgeous

  12. Pingback: Makeup Challenge Day 2: Gilded Lids | Say Hello to Gorgeous

  13. Pingback: Makeup Challenge Day 1: Red Lips | Say Hello to Gorgeous

Comments Show You Care

