Eyes / Makeup / Tutorials

How To: Rock Bright Eyeshadow

Happy Monday everyone. I hope all my fellow Americans had a fun and family filled holiday weekend. We had a great time kayaking with our friends and BBQing over my fiance’s parents’ house. As you might have noticed from the picture in Friday’s post, I have some more Que Bella masks to review for you all. But before I do that, I thought I’d write up a non skincare post, for my more makeup inspired friends. Hope you enjoy my basic tips for how to rock bright eyeshadow.

Blue Orchid Makeup

I’ve realized that in my life as well as well as in the lives of many other women, neutral shadows reign supreme. So on those rare occasions when we flirt with colored eyeshadows, we can sometimes be at a loss for how to apply it. Here are my top tips.

Your Dark and Light Colors Still Go in the Same Spots: There’s no one right way to do eyeshadow. Some people put the darkest color in their crease, some people put the darkest color in their outer corner and some people put the darkest color right at their lash line and blend lighter and lighter toward the brow bone. Regardless of how you do it, the same principles apply when you’re using bright colors. If a medium brown was your darkest color, would you put it on your brow bone or inner eye corner? I’m guessing the answer is no, so if bright green is your darkest color, why would you put that on your brow bone or inner eye corner

White Base Can Make Colors Pop: I wrote a whole article on Nyx’s white base here, but in case you missed it, here’s a picture showing how putting a white base under your bright eyeshadow can take your colors from pretty pigmented to pow.

(l to r): base alone, eyeshadow + base, eyeshadow alone

(l to r): base alone, eyeshadow + base, eyeshadow alone

It’s Okay to Use Neutrals Too: It’s actually really hard to use straight up bright colors in your eyeshadow looks. It’s okay to mix in a neutral here and there. Sometimes just putting the bright color on your lid and brown in your crease can ease the transition.

Green Eyes

Blend, Blend, Blend: This one is so important, and not just for bright colors. If your eyeshadow isn’t up to par, just keep blending.

When In Doubt, Neutral Mouth: I think bright or vampy lip colors can look amazing with a bright eye, but only if done right. If you’re a beginner or unsure of how it will look, a nude or natural lip color is your best bet.

Winged Liner Makes Everything Better: This is my final tip. Sure winged liner is a whole other thing you have to master, but putting the emphasis back on your lash line can make things right after your eyeshadow has gone horribly wrong.

So those are my top tips. Do you ever wear bright eyeshadow? What are your tips for making it work? Let me know in the comments below!

26 thoughts on “How To: Rock Bright Eyeshadow

  1. I love your makeup look! It’s beautiful! These are some great tips! I usually like to use a just a pop of color all over the lid for a quick and fun look. 🙂

  2. I actually wear bright colors every day lol. Rare are the days when you find me wearing nothing but neutral shadows.. these tips are indeed helpful, and ones I use on a daily basis 🙂

  3. I always enjoy your tutorials on beauty routine. They’re so simple and relatable! Looking into every aspect of an issue certainly is your power, and it makes everything perfect.

    Yes, I wear bright eyeshadows way more than neutral ones. My yellowish skin undertone makes neutrals look really hideous on me, unless we’re talking black or charcoal. I prefer brights because they light up my face and my fair skin goes with them really really well! But I couldn’t agree more on the neutral lip – actually, I wear mostly nude lips because bright or vampy lipshades look almost obscene on me.

    • Thanks Sylvia, that was a very kind compliment. I enjoy hearing your perspective on bright eyeshadows too 🙂 Hope you have a great week

  4. The green eyeshadow looks lovely on you. I’m such a putting white eyeshadow on the inner section of my eye. For some reason it just makes you look like you’re more skilled than you actually are haha.

Comments Show You Care

