Cruelty-Free / Eyes / Makeup / Reviews

Colourpop Super Shock Shadow Review & Swatches: Flux and Snap Dragon

Good morning! Last week, I reviewed Colourpop’s lippie stix for you. This week, I’m ready to tackle their eyeshadow. So what do I think? Keep reading to find out!

Colourpop Eyeshadows

Color: It’s long been on my mind that I wanted a matte mint green eyeshadow. I find that if you use neutrals for the rest of your eyeshadow, you can get away with wearing a pastel color on your lid and still be work/ daytime appropriate. While perusing the Colourpop website for such a color, which I found in Flux, I also came across Snap Dragon, a beautiful, bright green with a lot of blue undertones.

colourpop flux snap dragon swatch

Left: Flux, Right: Snap Dragon

Color Payoff: A big thing with me, when it comes to shopping for eyeshadows is the color payoff. It’s worth splurging on an eyeshadow if the color payoff is good because you use so much less of it at one time that it lasts much longer. Plus it saves on aggravation. These weren’t so impressive at first. Sometimes this happens because of the way the pigment is packed in on top to get the textured pattern. So I gave it another chance and WOW am I glad I did. After you loosen up the shadow a little, the color payoff is phenomenal!

flux swatch

Flux all over lid

snap dragon swatch

Snap Dragon in crease

Texture: The texture of these is just perfect. I don’t have much more to say about this. They are buttery and soft. No complaints.

Application: Here’s where I might get a little whiny. Snap Dragon is a dream to apply. Flux on the other hand, not so much. I get that making a pastel color opaque is no easy task, especially for how opaque this one was, but it was very difficult to blend. It was as if once I got this color on my lid, it refused to budge. Both Flux and Snap Dragon stuck to/ stained my brushes more than other eyeshadows.

Price: $5.00 each. Oddly enough, this is either a good price or a bad price, depending on how you look at it. I’ll put it to you this way. This is equally good quality as Urban Decay, who sells single eyeshadows at a hefty $18-$20 a pop. However, brands like UD sell their eyeshadows in a palette, for much less than it would cost to buy all those colors separately. In other words, if you were to buy 12 individual UD eyeshadows, it would cost you over $200, but if you were to buy a Naked palette (which has 12 eyeshadows) you would get a steep discount and pay less than $60. Because Colourpop doesn’t have palettes at the moment or offer discounts on their quads, you don’t get any discount. So if you buy 12 Colourpop eyeshadows, you are paying more than you would for an Urban Decay Naked palette with the same number of eyeshadows. Potentially irrelevant, but I thought I would put that in perspective for you.

Cruelty-Free: Yes!

So what do you think? Have you tried these eyeshadows? Do you want to? If so, what colors would you like to try? Let me know in the comments below!

26 thoughts on “Colourpop Super Shock Shadow Review & Swatches: Flux and Snap Dragon

  1. I’ve been wanting to try shadows from ColourPop because all I’ve seen are positive reviews….and you can’t beat that price! I love these colors you chose, perfect for the summer and they look great on you! Great review and swatches! xx

  2. Love ColourPop! Glad to see you enjoyed them. =) I love these colours, the pastel opaques actually give me the best colour payoff of all of theirs! =o Absolutely gorgeous look you made, too. ❤

  3. Those are really pretty shades! I’ve been loving my Where The Light Is quad by Kathleen Lights. 🙂

    • Thanks! I was eyeing that one, but decided to go for something a little different than my usual. Hope you had a great weekend and are having a great week

      • Oh I know what you mean. I have so many neutral types of shades too. It’s nice to add a pop of color in there somewhere lol. Thank you! I hope you had a great weekend to and have a great week! 🙂

  4. Thanks for the review! I love Colourpop, but I do find that the formulas vary drastically in every product line. So far, I have found that the Super Shock Shadow Mattes are the hardest to apply with brushes/finger. I do love their Metallics!!

  5. I too enjoy the way u look wearing the Mint-green !!!! I’m not sure if u might have known this,,, but for a short,, very short time,,, Kelly was-out,,,,, for a little while,,,, but,, she had to stop,,, & be put on hold,,, hmmm? but…… I am feeling a urge…. to get her up again,,,, long-story short for most C-dressers that are sort of in the closet when,,,, there’s a certain feeling/Vibe we sort of….. STOP! & in some cases we do what’s called purging we get rid of (ALL) that we bought that pertains to…. C-dressing & so,, because of my Moms situating & knowing all my family members would be here at the house where my Mother & I….live I had too…. but…. there’s some good news…or at least better then b4,,, I have told a few family/friend of mine…..that I tried this so called C-dressing lol & ??? well they took-it better then what I ever thought they would. So when the house gets sold….I am thinking? in where ever I might move-in too I really would like to try it a little more…it felt kind of: ,,,,, ? Different / Good. I do know now…that the few times Kelly was out…I def have to learn even (better) to how to apply my makeup & will see where all this goes lol &…..def telling who-ever ? that I rent from that I do….this lol just in case I really wouldn’t want to shock any one & every 1 feeling unconfutable I will find the right place & people that will accept/know this….even if it takes a little longer so…im crossing my fingers & my…cross dressing lol,,, lol,,, sorry for that silly joke,, well V, its another good/Nice post u wrote thank you,,,, K

    • Hi Kelly. Sorry for all your family troubles. I’m glad that Kelly was out for a short amount of time, even if it wasn’t that long. If you bring her out again, I hope everyone else reacts as well as your family friend. It’ll be fun for you to get to do makeup and hair and all girly things

  6. Pingback: ColourPop Nillionaire & Flipper Eyeshadow: Review & Swatches | Say Hello to Gorgeous

Comments Show You Care

