Cruelty-Free / Lips / Makeup

Dupe Alert: ColourPop Trixie vs Toucan

Hope everyone had a fantastic weekend. I’m going to jump right in and talk about dupes. Finding dupes for products you love is a great way to save money. You can find the product you want for cheaper, or in this case, avoid buying the same color twice. Case in point: ColourPop’s Trixie vs ColourPop’s Toucan. Are they dupes for each other? Take a look for yourself.

colourpop toucan trixie swatch

Left: Toucan, Right: Trixie

Trixie is a satin finish lipstick in a bright coral red.
Toucan is a matte finish lipstick in a bright, pinky-red coral.
Right off the bat, ColourPop isn’t differentiating these colors much. Here’s how they look.

colourpop toucan swatch

Toucan

colourpop trixie swatch

Trixie

Toucan

Toucan

Trixie

Trixie

Dupe? In my mind, these colors are definitely dupes for each other. Swatched side by side, you can tell that Trixie is ever so slightly warmer, but the difference isn’t so noticeable as to justify buying both colors. Trust me on this, the tiniest deviation in color can convince me to buy both.

So Which Should I Buy? Since the colors are almost dead on, here are some other factors you can consider when deciding which lipstick to get.

  • Finish: Toucan is matte, while Trixie is satin, but honestly the finish looks pretty similar. Trixie is not that much shinier than Toucan
  • Application: Trixie is creamier and glides on. Toucan is a little thicker to apply.
  • Wear: Both last forever. You will probably need to reapply around the eight hour mark. Even though the lipsticks are still both on after this time period, they will have faded to be a little blotchy. Trixie also feathers slightly, so use a lipliner if you have one.

Honestly, the choice comes down to whether you want a creamier application (Trixie) or a lipstick you won’t have to pair with liner (Toucan). I like both, but knowing what I know now, I would probably have just bought Toucan and skipped Trixie.

So what do you think? Do you know of any good dupes? Would you like to see more dupe posts? Let me know in the comments below!

17 thoughts on “Dupe Alert: ColourPop Trixie vs Toucan

  1. Excellent!! Thanks so much, this is so useful. I believe Toucan is LE, too, so this posts makes me really happy. I love Toucan, and was hoping I’d be able to repurchase it when I ran out. ❤

    • I’ll try to look. I don’t often find dupes in my collection. This was an accident more or less. I wasn’t sure which color would look better on me and didn’t realize how similar they were until I got them

  2. Great post V, gotta say these are soooo alike though on my screen Trixie seems just a tiny bit lighter, think I might prefer it just a tad 🙂 Virtually identical though – close call!! Karen xo

  3. Just wondering…for those on the UK who want Courpop. How expensive is the shipping if one of us ordered it and shipped it. Thanks V for the post. This is a hard decision because I love the satins and the mattes. Since they are so similar and beautiful on you I say satin because it’s not as drying as matte.

Comments Show You Care

