Eyes / Makeup / Tutorials

3 Ways to Wear Colored Eyeliner

Guest blog from Sam of Spring, Summer, Sam.

I’ve never been the type to shy away from color. In the sea of black, white, and grey clothing that blankets L.A. I like to stand out by wearing something a little loud, a little different.

Colored eyeliner is one of my favorite ways to show off my personality and shake up my everyday makeup routine. When I get tired of my usual weekday brown and champagne neutrals, I like to add pops of color to my eyes in a way that is wearable yet still garners attention.

If you like experimenting with different colors, like me, you may have already tried out some of these easy eye looks. But if you’re someone who is just starting to try new things and are looking for some fun looks to start with, check out these three easy tutorials.

Right now, my favorite colored eyeshadows to use are the L’Oreal Infallible Eye Crayons. They are creamy, pigmented, and stay in place all day! I think to use them as eyeliner sometimes, too, as you’ll see in one of the looks below.

Look #1

purple eyeliner

This first look is one of the simplest ways to introduce colored eyeliner into your regimen. The pop of color on the lower waterline is subtle but eye-catching (pun intended)!

I start by tightlining my lower waterline with the Essence eyeliner pencil in Merry Berry, and then applied the L’Oreal Infallible Eye Crayon in Always Purple along my lower lash line. Don’t forget to tightline the upper lash line with a black eyeliner to add intensity and balance the top and bottom lids. Feel free to tightline the top with a different colored eyeliner instead if you’re feeling creative!

Look #2

green eyeliner

This is a fun take on the classic winged eyeliner. I just applied the L’Oreal Eye Crayon in Resilient Green just above my black eyeliner using a flat eyeliner brush, and brought it out to the wing. I made sure my black line was as thin as possible so that the green eyeshadow really stood out.

Look #3

blue eyeliner

This is one of the more daring looks but still one of my favorites. Start by tightlining the upper waterline with a black eyeliner pencil. Then, apply colored eyeliner to the upper lash line and wing it out. Apply more colored eyeliner along the lower lash line and then connect the two ends.

Which one of these looks is your favorite?
Follow Sam’s blog SpringSummerSam and visit her on Instagram and Twitter.

Vanessa’s note: Thank you so much to Sam for her guest post today. Do me a favor and check out her blog. It is an incredible site for any beauty lover. Please note that I am on vacation for the week, so I’ll be slow to moderate the comments, aka, things might look at bit wonky in the comments section. Are you interested in guest blogging for Say Hello to Gorgeous? Shoot me an email at sayhellotogorgeous@gmail.com.

15 thoughts on “3 Ways to Wear Colored Eyeliner

  1. Wow Sam! You’ve been making the rounds on my favourite blogs! 😉
    I like the third one best even though I’m probably too chicken to rock it – it looks amazing on you though! 🙂

Comments Show You Care

