Etc. / Fashion

Where Have I Been? Jobs and All That Wedding Stuff

Happy Monday! Well, it’s been a hot minute since I’ve posted hasn’t it? I don’t think I’ve gone a week without posting since the third month I’ve blogged. Not only has my internet been super slow lately (grr), but I’ve had a lot going on in my life. What exactly? Keep reading!

Sounds about right.

New Job! I just recently started a new job. For those of you who don’t pay extra close attention to the comments section of this blog, I moved back in June and have been on the lookout for a new position. In August I found out I was hired by a great company. Party time! Even though I like the job, the commute time is horrible. I’ve tried several different ways, but at 5 o’clock, it takes me over an hour to get home no matter how I go when it would normally take 40 minutes. Another reason why I haven’t been posting. I get home between 6:15-6:30 and I’m wiped out.

pyramid club weddings

The Pyramid Club L: ballroom, R: the view

Boathouse Row, Philadelphia. Photo courtesy of Wikicommons

Wedding Venues! You guessed it. This week I’ve been touring wedding venues. Even though we’ve been engaged for over six months, with the move, we are just getting around to planning the big day. Above are our two top venue choices. The Pyramid Club is a private dining club on the 52nd floor of a skyscraper in Philadelphia. The view is incredible. The downside is that prices being the way they are, we could only afford it for a Friday night. (BTW fellow brides–if you’re looking to save money, Friday nights are less than half the price of Saturday night weddings in some venues.) The second is a boathouse on historic Boathouse Row in Philadelphia. I love this one for the location. If you aren’t familiar with Philadelphia, Boathouse Row is located within eyesight of the Philadelphia Art Museum (where Rocky did his famous run) and right on the Schuylkill River. Downside is that it doesn’t have a very good ceremony space. Guess which one I’m going to choose. I don’t know either. I’m torn!

Maggie Sottero long sleeves

Dress Shopping! As I write this, I have an appointment to go dress shopping in a few hours! Wish me luck in finding my dream gown and check out some other bridal gowns I like.

So that’s it for me for now. Can’t wait to give you more updates. What’s new with you? Let me know in the comments below.

33 thoughts on “Where Have I Been? Jobs and All That Wedding Stuff

  1. I don’t know about the other stuff but the Boathouse venue is mind-blowing. Doesn’t matter it’s not quite well wedding-ceremony suited, it’s plain amazing and loaded with history – really unique! If somehow life throws me an oddball of a wedding, I’d definitely go with something unique rather than some fancy schmancy wedding venue club.

  2. I’m happy to know that you haven’t been blogging because of positive things like venue finding and dress shopping. I know that everything will turn out beautifully regardless of the location you book. Such exciting times!!!

  3. Congratulations V on everything! Let me know when you figure out how to balance work, and blog life. That’s something I am struggling with myself right now, as I also just started a new job!

  4. I totally understand, I’ve been working a lot too and I know I’m missing out on what you guys are up to! I hope you settled in and that you are taking plenty of time for your wedding planning, that must be so exciting! Good luck with it all, I hope you have a great weekend! 😘😘😘

Comments Show You Care

