Eyes / Makeup

The Eyeshadow Tag

Happy Friday, beauties! I know, I know. I should have been a good blogger and planned more posts ahead of time just in case it would take me this long to find the box with my camera cord after I moved. Oops. At any rate, I couldn’t leave you with nothing, so today I present: The Eyeshadow Tag, close sister to the ever popular Lipstick Tag. Let’s get started.

naked basics 2 eyeshadow palette

HOW MANY EYESHADOW PALETTES (AND QUADS AND SINGLES) DO YOU OWN?
So I try to be good. I only own 4 larger palettes (including the Naked 3 palette, reviewed here), probably a dozen mini palettes (which I’m counting as any palette with less than 10 eyeshadows) and maybe I small handful of single eyeshadows.

WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE KIND OF EYE SHADOW. MATTE OR SHINY?
If you would have asked me 4 years ago, I would have said matte hands down. It looks way better in flash photography and since the Naked palette was having a moment in 2011, matte shadows were a little harder to get your hands on in the drugstores. That being said, I don’t take as many indoor photos now and mattes are pretty easy to find. So I’d say that I use both about equally and use both finishes in most of my eye looks. Yes, I put way too much thought into that answer.

HOW OFTEN DO YOU CLEAN YOUR EYE SHADOW PALETTES?
Never. Is this a thing? I clean the mirror off sometimes if a little loose shadow gets on it, but mostly they look clean to me.

WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE BRAND OF EYESHADOW AND WHY (WHAT MAKES IT SO SPECIAL)?
Too Faced. They have a nice texture, most have good pigmentation and a lot of their palettes include mattes and shimmers.

WHERE DO YOU BUY MOST OF YOUR EYESHADOW PALETTES?
I actually don’t buy that much eyeshadow any more. I’m kinda going through a lip phase. In the last year, I think I bought most of my palettes from Sephora.

WHATS YOUR CUT OFF PRICE WHEN BUYING EYE SHADOW PALETTES?
I don’t think I have one. The more expensive brands tend to be between $50-$60 for a larger palette and according to my makeup drawer, I find that to be reasonable.

WHAT KIND OF PRIMER, IF ANY, DO YOU USE UNDER YOUR EYE SHADOW APPLICATION?
I mentioned before that I absolutely love Wet n Wild’s Fergie primer. I think it’s great for the price. In general, I choose matte primers that are sheer or close to my skin tone as I think they offer the best versatility.

WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE BRUSH/TOOL TO USE TO APPLY YOUR EYE SHADOW?
It depends on the look. In general, I will use a flat brush to really pack color onto my lid and a fluffy brush to blend a darker color into my crease.

Well that’s it for the tag. Thanks for reading and have a great weekend!

43 thoughts on “The Eyeshadow Tag

  1. Haha, I did a modification of the Lipstick Tag and turned it into an Eye shadow tag too! But I stayed pretty close to the original Lipstick Tag questions and just changed “lipstick” to “eye shadow” 😛
    Here is it!
    https://stashmatters.wordpress.com/2015/05/28/the-eye-shadow-tag/
    I am not really into palettes so I stayed away from palette questions, lol!
    Is there a difference between the WnW Fergie regular primer and the Fergie shimmery one? I asked one of my Makeup Muggle friends to pick it up for me when she visited the US last year and she bought the shimmery version! > <
    We have WnW core collections here but not the Fergie line – that's where all the good stuff is! 😛

    • Awesome, I didn’t know there were multiple versions of this running around! I had seen this earlier and just googled “eyeshadow tag” to find questions. I never knew there was a shimmery Fergie primer. I just have the regular matte one to be honest.

  2. Too Faced is my favorite too! Super high pigmentation and really blend-able!! Also, I never clean my palettes unless I’m using them on someone else…just a spritz of rubbing alcohol before and after works great. ;). Thanks for the post, one of these days I’ll remember to check out that eye primer!

  3. Brill tag V, I have to say I giggled at your response to the palette cleaning!!! lol Didn’t know it was a thing either – mine seem neat enough too lol Karen xo

  4. Not an eyeshadow person but I do love my Urban decay collections. You got me curious with Too Faced, though. maybe, if I can get my hands on them next time, i will, but just like you, I’m in a lipstick phase and I just want to be the pokemon master of Nars Audacious lipstick. I want to collect em’ all. 😀

    cheers,
    Jammeh

    justjammeh.wordpress.com

    • Ahaha, the Pokemon master of Nars, I love it! Try Too Faced if you get a chance or find a good deal. Their holiday collections are usually pretty good. Last year’s had about 20 eyeshadows (plus, bronzers, blushes and other stuff) for about the price of a Naked palette

  5. V have you ever tried MakeUp Geek eyeshadows? They are affordable and supposed to be very good quality. Also, the only type of “cleaning” on a palette that I am aware of is to spray the actual shadows with alcohol and let it air dry. I believe that is what MakeUp artists due to sanitize their palettes.

    • Ohh, that makes a lot of sense. Maybe that’s what the question is referring to. As for the Makeup Geek shadows, don’t tempt me! I have a long wish list of things I want to try and they have these metallic/foiled eyeshadows that are pretty far up there

  6. Pingback: Eyeshadow Collection and The Eyeshadow Tag | katiethiesen.wordpress.com

Comments Show You Care