Eyes / Makeup / Tutorials

How To: Quick and Natural Looking Filled in Brows

Hello! You might have noticed we talk about brows a lot on this blog! And while it’s my personal opinion that not everyone has to (or should) do their brows a certain way, a huge problem for beginners is getting a look that is much more bold and unnatural looking than intended. So today, I’m going to do an easy tutorial on how to get natural looking filled in brows without using a lot of products or spending a lot of time. Let’s begin!

filled in eyebrows

Tools You’ll Need:

  • Brow powder or eyeshadow in the color of your brows
  • An angled brush

Steps

  • Possibly the #`1 most important step is to choose a brow color that works for you. If you’re unsure what color to use, be on the safe side and pick a color that’s a little lighter than what you think you need. If you don’t have a lot of red in your hair. Use something a bit cooler in tone as well. I’m using Primal from the second Naked Basics palette.

naked basics 2 eyeshadow palette

  • Dip your brush in your chosen eyeshadow/brow powder. If it’s high quality, you shouldn’t need a lot. Start wherever your brows are in most need of being filled in. For me, that means mid brow

Filled In Brows

  • Use short brush strokes (this will mimic the line of hair) to fill in the sparsest areas. Then with whatever is left on your brush, fill in the areas that don’t need it as much to make sure your look is even. For me, this means in filling in the part of my eyebrow closest to my nose last.

And that’s it! Hope you enjoyed. Do you have any tips or tricks for filling in your eyebrows? Let me know in the comments below!

45 thoughts on “How To: Quick and Natural Looking Filled in Brows

  1. Great post V, eyebrows are always something of an obstacle for me – it’s getting the colour just right, too dark and it’s a nightmare!! Yours look fantastic 🙂 X

    • Thanks so much, Karen. I hope this helps. I still mess up the shade sometimes, when I try something new. I hate when the color looks perfect in doors and you go outside and it looks so completely harsh

      • YES!!!! That has been such a weird issue for me – i’m sooo glad I’m not the only one who’s experienced this V lol Sticking to a good few shades lighter and it seems to be working okay-ish though I think I need to invest in a really good eye brow kit 🙂 You’re so welcome & yes it was really helpful ❤ x

  2. Great post as usual, and I’m sooooo glad that you talked about using eyeshadow. There are ZILLIONS of neutral eyeshadow shades out there, while actual brow products usually only come in a few shades (and those shades are almost never quite right for me). And your technique really rocks! I’ll bet this is going to be really helpful for a lot of people.

    • Thanks! I love using eyeshadow anyway, because with all the neutral palettes I have, if one shade doesn’t work I just try another in the palette and don’t have to run out to buy a whole new brow product.

  3. Another great post with helpful tips! I love the shape of your brows and how natural they look. I much prefer using powder to pencil, wax, gel, anything!

  4. Great post! Defined brows make the face 🙂 I’m obsessed with Benefit’s Instant Brow Pencil, but I should give powder a try sometime too.

  5. I never would have thought to use my Naked 2 Basics palette for my brows. I am going to try this! Thank you for sharing! 🙂 Such a helpful post! xo

  6. I have been to nervous to try filling in my brows because they are black! With the contrast between super pale skin and super dark hair I don’t think anything will look right.

    • That’s a tough one. I’m pretty pale most of the year and my hair is a very dark brown. I know a lot of times when I filled in my brows before using this technique, it used to look pretty odd. It might help to use a slightly lighter color than black or hey, not fill them in at all if you don’t need it!

Comments Show You Care

